We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointed”

Thames Historical Museum
Ranked #11 of 18 things to do in Thames
Attraction details
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The sign on the front fence said it opened at 1, we went and mucked around town until 1, parked around the park and went to go inside only to see a very old sign that said if it is the afternoon and no one is here they must be sick!!!! GET WITH IT THAMES!!!!! This may be run by local people etc, if the staff are sick get a roster and get someone there who can open it OR close it up and sell it! I was not happy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Annarrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
388 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

the museum is in a park setting with modern buildings. It has period rooms with genuine locally used furnishings and clothin. Interesting but not exciting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank T0urist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheap and a true experience of yesteryear.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The museum is set up to experience what life was like a century ago. Very nostalgic with true artefacts and displays.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank treajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I (in our late 40s) dropped in to the museum late on a Saturday afternoon. It was $5 per adult, which we both thought was well worth it. The team of volunteers running the museum have done an excellent job pulling together material from the town's interesting history. The links to businesses still running, like the foundry, and the quality of the exhibits lifted the museum above the average for small town museums. The volunteer on duty kindly put on a wind-up gramophone for us - it's not often these days that you get to see one in action.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hrpmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Very small area, yet the grounds are bare. For such a small area it has filled out with a good display indoors. Thames have a few Museum's now, the Historical Society is very active.

Helpful?
Thank Noeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thames Historical Museum also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Thames Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing