We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, lovely people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuscany on Thames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tuscany on Thames
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Excellent accommodation on New Year's Eve. The motel is comfortable and clean and Jan was most helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    31
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
49
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed one night in a comfortable and clean unit with kitchen facilities. In contrast to some reviews we found the two ladies we dealt with to be friendly and helpful. Like most motels it is on the main road so traffic noise is a factor in the mornings, but it shouldn't come as a surprise. If you want a noise free experience you would not stay in a town on a main road. We were happy wi our choice and the owners restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFBtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We had a great stay in this motel. The only downside is the traffic noise but if you are there for work and up and about at business hours it is fine. Very clean and fantastic well equipped kitchen. Lovely staff too. Will happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramaticAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

My mother and I arrived at the front desk and inquired about the room and cost. The motel rooms where higher than we expected. The front desk lady asked us what kind of budget we were looking for. I answered 90 to 100 nzd ( which is a good average price for twin rooms) at this time of the year ( may off season). The woman said that we should go to the backpackers up the road because "we are cheap backpackers" in a very arrogant and derogatory tone. No offense to backpackers but I though it was a pretty insulting thing to say in front of my 60 year old mother. So we ended up in the motel next-door. Very friendly woman within the budget and great rooms with great facilities!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waltraut54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nino7376, Owner at Tuscany on Thames, responded to this review, 26 June 2011
Your response to our tariff indicated very definitly that you were not interested hence I did not offer to show you a unit and I do not justify that you state a price at what we should charge.There are travel guide books freely available in our country which give property details, star ratings and tariffs.
We accept everybody has a budget thus I asked you the question. I indicated two options within your price range one of these was a backpackers. It was not intended to be offending and you were not called cheap backpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

On arrival we were slightly concerned at the proximity of the main road, but it didn't bother us much. The rooms, even the bath room, were very luxurious. The unit itself was enourmous with modern decor and kitchen. My only niggle was the small window in my bedroom, it was a thin rectangular shape along the top of the wall. Either it was to keep the noise of the road out, or stop people looking in as it faced the courtyard, but it was a bit off putting waking up in a room with no window to look out of.

Even so, I would stay here again as it was perfect for touring the Coromandel Peninsula, and the quality of the rest of room more than made up for it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becca143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

We chose Thames as a base as we wanted to visit friends who live in the are and also wanted a good base from which to tour the Coromandel and Thames provided this. We picked Tuscany on Thames as it had good reviews and we were not disappointed. The accommodation is spacious, the bathroom was really well equiped with a huge spa bath and the kitchen area had all the facilities needed to do your own catering if you wanted to, which we did. We stayed 5 days in the area and were very happy with the accommodation and the warm welcome we received, we also enjoyed the visits from Cassie the golden retriever who was very interested in visiting especially when we were cooking. Although it's on the main road, it's quiet.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

This motel certainly cannot be described as nestled between what the owners would like you to believe. It is just several feet from a very, very busy road (SH25) and looks over to a car factory ! At $170 a night it is a total rip off . I have relied on booking through the AA on quite a few occasions but now I am sceptical about any future bookings. Sadly after paying out a fortune to travel from England I cannot afford to walk away from the pre booked 2 night stay as they cleverly have a 48 hour clause where you lose a full nights payment if you cancel.
DON'T book this place if you think you are going to get a tranquil stay ! We stayed at a peaceful place called Lynton Lodge in Pauanui on the other side of the Coromandels before we came here. Wish we'd stayed !
By the way ...The pool is tiny and placed just off two converging roads. Very clever photograpy !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueKiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nino7376, owner at Tuscany on Thames, responded to this review, 21 January 2010
We do not advertise a quiet location or spectacular views. Our motel was the wrong choice for you but please appreciate we have 1000s' of satisfied guests each year who thoroughly enjoy our 4 star plus accommodation including the swimming pool and its' surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.2 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Thames Motel
Avalon Thames Motel
#35 of 52 in Coromandel Peninsula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
12.4 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscany on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany on Thames

Property: Tuscany on Thames
Address: Jellicoe Crescent, Thames SH 25, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tuscany on Thames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tuscany on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany On Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing