We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good Location, a little Noise”
Review of Tuscany on Thames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tuscany on Thames
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is easy to find right on the main road into Thames. We got a warm welcome and personally show to the room and walked thru to review. Very comfortable room, good size with kitchen amenities including a small fridge. From a location point of view it is a short drive to main core for restaurants. Front desk folk were helpful especially when it came to where to go and what to see in the area.

The only draw back which some have already mentioned is the road noise. Double pain windows would make a significant improvement.

All in all for a one or two night stay it is good value for the price.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We are currently travelling round New Zealand on our honeymoon, and stayed for two nights at 'Tuscany on Thames'. We booked a studio room which was lovely, more than big enough for the two of us, and extremely comfortable. The kitchenette had everything we could possibly need, electric hob and a microwave for cooking and all pots, pans and
utensils. The bathroom was wonderful, spa bath was enormous and a real treat. The whole studio was spotless and beautifully
Maintained. The swimming pool area was also very well looked after, really enjoyed being able to go for a dip and extra towels were also provided for us to use it. The owners were charming, very friendly and helpful with lots of info on the local area. The location was perfect for exploring Thames and the surrounding areas. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have loved to be able to stay for longer. :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spangledsparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location on the way into Thames. Wonderful look and feel about this motel. We were pleasantly surprised by the room which was well appointed with a spacious and very clean bathroom. In fact the entire room was clean to an excellent standard. Too cold for swimming during our stay but the pool area looked very inviting. Friendly new owners were knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. Can highly recommend the french toast for breakfast. Would happily stay again at Tuscany on Thames.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyandAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I, along with three teenagers, stayed for two nights last weekend and experienced the best hospitality and advice from Trish and Barry. They recommended a great place for dinner, and we were not dissapointed. The rooms were sparkling clean, as was everything about the place. Strongly recommend to anyone visiting Thames. Trish used to work for the i-site and has a wealth of local knowledge. Thank you guys.

Room Tip: Very close to town, be specific about your needs when you book. We took adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed one night in a studio unit in this Thames Motel. Rooms are big and well appointed. It had a double spa bath. Bed was very comfortable. Hosts were friendly. One of the first Motels you come to on the south end of Thames. You have everything you need in a motel. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here with a group for a car rally good parking for the cars . Good rooms spacious tidy good size bathroom with spa bath not that we had time to use it good swimming pool area .Jan very friendly and helpful we returned for a 3 rd night although traffic noise was not the best as on a busy road it was not a real issue
Would return as a good base to explore coromandel coast

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PUMPKIIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

LOCATION: Conveniently located right by Pacific Coast Highway, SH25. A short walk to local supermarket and restaurants. Free outdoor car park.

HOTEL: Surly host provided fast check-in. New but a bit dusty room. OK beds. Skimpy pillows. Decent shower. Fan, no air-conditioning.

CONCLUSION: Not recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.2 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
117 reviews
19.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
19.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
197 reviews
23.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
12.7 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscany on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany on Thames

Address: Jellicoe Crescent, Thames SH 25, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range: £78 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tuscany on Thames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star property we pride ourselves in our attention to detail and modern decor. All units ) have double spa baths (except access), kitchen facilities, internet and SKY TV with 50+ guest select. The property also has a swimming pool and guest laundry. Ideally located a one minute drive from the beginning of the main street of Thames which is the service centre for the beautiful Coromandel Penninsular ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tuscany on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany On Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing