We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tuscany on Thames
Nearby Hotels
US$110
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rolleston Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Brookby Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blake Court Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon Thames Motel(Coromandel Peninsula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
56
36
10
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
36
10
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathmain roadroad noisesparkling cleanone bedroom unitonly draw backquiet at nightus feel at homefriendly welcomeeasy parkingroom was spacioussmall poolwi ficoromandel peninsulathe kitchenclose to townlocal area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2008

All in all a nice stopover but beware of The Dragon! The motel itself provides good, clean accommodation with lovely bathrooms and a nice kitchen facility. There is a very small swimming pool on site (it looks far bigger in the brochure) and free internet (wi-fi). The downside to the place is the woman in reception with an authoratative air(OwnerManager?) and a snooty attitude who checked us in with such disdain that we did wonder if we were going to make the grade to be allowed to stay at all! Most unwelcoming. Having told us that check-out was at 10 am, by 10.15 as we were gathering our last bits and pieces together, she was hammering on the door to throw us out. and she was extremely rude that we were not ready on the dot of 10 am. In 4 weeks travelling NZ we have left hotels and motels extremely early, on time and a little late but we have never experienced this attitude before either in NZ or anywhere else and wondered how she gets on when the motel is full and everyone is trying to check out at once dead on 10 am.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tinyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nino7376, owner at Tuscany on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2010

Check out time is 10:00am and 15 - 20 minutes later is acceptable but after that time (which from memory was this case) we do liase with guests to know how much later they intend to depart. Please respect we have a busy routine to work through to have units ready for in coming guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

Stopped here on reccomendation of tripadvisor reviews. Very nicely appointed motel, seperate living area, bedroom and bathroom, all quite large. The location is great, just a 5 minute walk into the quiet town centre, however as others have said the motel is right on the main road and there was a reasonable amount of traffic noise at night. Staff were helpful but not as friendly as most kiwi motel staff. Thames was a simple town, but not much choice for eating\drinking. Good location if you are looking to do day trips around Coromandel, but there are probably better options if you want to spend time on the beach or get into the bush.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RaddogUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2006

We booked this motel after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor and we can endorse everything. Both the room and the bathroom were large, clean and impeccably kept. A hot breakfast was delivered to our room at a pre-arranged time and was delicious. But, and it was a bit BUT for us, the motel is situated on a very busy road and the traffic noise is relentless from about 5.30 am. We didn't sleep well and if, like us, you like you a quiet location, then this won't be for you.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

Stayed here in August 2006 for one night as a stopover. Paid $145 (about £50) which is truly excellent value. The room was immaculate - had a living room with sofa and chair and TV, separate double bedroom, kitchenette and large bathroom with corner spa bath. The room was modern and clean. Owner of hotel was very friendly and helpful and overall we couldn't have asked for more. One minor criticism is that we have small children so didn't really appreciate the glass topped tables !! although the glass can be removed and placed under the bed out of harms way and the table base put in a corner although that leaves you without a table of course but, in my book, better than taking your child to the emergency room !!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank spoyzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2006

Tuscany on Thames, Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Comfortable motel type lodging with reasonably well equipped kitchenette, large bath with jetted tub, color tv, king bed, two person table, sofabed, small coffee table which will accommodate laptop. Lacks storage/drawers. Reasonable size closet, with full size ironing board, not many hangers. Guest laundry offering free use of machines, $2 charge for soap. Pool which has been shot to appear immense in their advertising literature is a small kidney shape, and right on the main street, as is the motel. Road noise is apparent, as is some noise from residential area behind the complex. Fitness facility is next door, and offers day rates, but no fitness center on grounds, which is indicated on some reservation websites. Thames is a fairly unremarkable town on the lower western end of the Coromandel Peninsula. The Ngatea Watergardens, approximately 30 minutes south and west of Thames (towards Auckland) is a fun ½ day (or less) excursion from Thames. The Old Thames Restaurant was good , with a more than acceptable house wine in the Riverland Chardonnay. There is also a grocery with extensive takeout section located in the Goldfields Shopping Center, which also has a food court with numerous possibilities for takeout.

The road trip to Coromandel town is about an hour, assuming you don’t stop and that you drive like a New Zealander, which is pretty aggressive given the twisting narrow roads and logging trucks who accompany you. There are a fairly adequate number of pullouts for the wimpier driver to give way. Non-British/Japanese/Australian drivers should probably give themselves extra time to get everywhere as there is something of a natural tendency to take it a bit easier when you aren’t used to driving on the “wrong” side of the road.

Coromandel, which we expected from the write ups to be something Carmel-like, was a bit of a disappointment, although we did find two very nice craft/art shops there - “Weta” and “The Source” both had very nice pieces at reasonable prices that were made by local artists. The town is small, but not as picturesque as the brochures would lead one to assume. Following SH 25 around to Whitianaga takes you through some spectacular scenery, across some twisting and narrow roads, and the return on SH25A to Thames also affords lovely vistas, particularly of the Broken Hills.

1  Thank KohalaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews