We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly if a little old-fashioned.”
Review of Rolleston Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rolleston Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very clean and friendly if a little old-fashioned.”
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We used this as a base for a couple of days exploring the Coromandel Peninsula. Spotlessly clean and well equipped although the style was quite dated.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    48
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We were given directions to another motel, but accidentally found this motel. As it was already late, we decided to stay in the Rolleston motel instead. It turned out to be a great find. The rooms are clean and tidy. There are very spacious and the full-featured kitchen is very handy even if you're just making breakfast as we did.
The owner of the motel is very friendly and she told us a lot about the Coromandel Peninsula even though it was already late.

The motel is located a good distance from the (not so busy) main road. So the noise from the traffic that does occasionally travels through town, is barely audible.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Stayed for 1 night in March. An older motel on the outskirts of town. Good sized room, spotlessly clean, with a helpful host. Price is reasonable and represents value for money for overnight stay. As an earlier correspondent said the plumbing noises are a real downer.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GSP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

A group of us stayed one night when we had an event in Thames, and found it to be large rooms, incredibly cleaned and immaculately maintained for an older hotel. The kitchen is well equipped and it's an easy flat walk to pretty much everything.

There is a pool, and shower had great hot water pressure.

The only downer was the toilet. LOUDEST (and I mean loud) toilet I've ever come across. It was almost funny that you had to pause a conversation in the room when someone was flushing, but once we hit night and a member of our group mixed medication and wine it was no longer so funny. Totally not the hotels fault that we required so many flushes, but if staying here again I'd apply a no flush rule as it's impossible to sleep through.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

This is an older style motel that has been refurbished. It is very well equipped, with a modern kitchenette and good quality linen. It is on the edge of the town but walking distance from restaurants and the supermarket. We used as a base for visiting the Coromandel region. Not glamorous but fit for purpose and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed here on our way back to Auckland for a flight. The room was comfortable and well appointed, even having proper cooking facilities which we found to be useful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilliplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We went on tour around the Coromandel Peninsular and the first stop was The Rolleston Motel.
It is situated in a reasonably quiet area of Thames. We stayed here after researching the trip advisor and were not disappointed.
The rooms are spacious, airy and well appointed. Each room has an area of garden with table and chairs.
There is a swimming pool on site with a separate hot pool. Both were clean and inviting. We met one of the owners on check in and she is a lovely lady with a great hospitality personality, which certainly added to our stay which we enjoyed. Thanks Mary!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxx05_29_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
23.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
100 reviews
12.9 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolleston Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolleston Motel

Property: Rolleston Motel
Address: 105 Rolleston Street | P.O. Box 228, Thames, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rolleston Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rolleston Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing