We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful value for money and quiet place”
Review of Rolleston Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rolleston Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Thames
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful value for money and quiet place”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Being one block back of the main highway means a peaceful sleep away from traffic noise yet walking distance to heart of township..Great value for money with 4 adults in a roomy unit.Currently being refreshed with new paint outdoors I look forward to a future stay and watching the refurbishments.Friendly kiwi owners are doing all the right things.
Only improvement I can suggest would be better daily wifi .The motel association should be negotiating better deals for members, after all the backpackers hostels have.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayelcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    45
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
63
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Studio with a comfortable King size bed. Hosts were very pleasant and helpful and everything was nice and clean.

No noise from the main road as it is set quite a way back - unlike the other properties you see as you drive into Thames. That said it is only a 2 minute drive to town.

Overall excellent value for money, and to be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaiyanandHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in Thames. On arrival we were given lots of useful information about what was available locally in the way of things to see and do, and where we could eat.

The motel is an older property in a quiet cul de sac not far from the main street of Thames. A short walk gets you into the main shopping and eating area of the town.

The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast can be delivered to your room and proved very acceptable.

The site has a open air pool and spa but we didn't try them, the weather was not really suitable.

All I all a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Only had one night in Thames on a recent trip to the Coromandel Peninsula, and our choice of motel was spot on. Service was polite, welcoming, and efficient. Our room was spacious and well appointed, and the bed was very comfortable. The motel is handy to the CBD but located in a quiet cul de sac. We would have no hesitation in staying again or recommending this motel to other budget-minded travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Clean and comfortable motel in the CBD. Nice, well equipped kitchenette. The loud fire siren at 1.30am was very disconcerting; but not the motel's fault, of course. The management were helpful and friendly. This is also a pet friendly motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a quick overnight stay at the Rolleston Motel. It's nothing fancy, but we appreciated that it was spotlessly clean and quiet. We stayed in a comfortable room with one queen and one single bed, which was a good arrangement for a couple traveling with an adult daughter. The wall heater, space heater, and electric blankets kept us warm and toasty. Mary was quite nice and gave us helpful advice in the morning about our drive around the Coromandel Peninsula. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I'd echo the other reviews. The motel looks like it was originally built in the 70s, but has been renovated carefully. Our room was very clean and the location, though lacking much of a view, was quiet in terms of road noise.The spa pool was great and the service was friendly.

Handy to the Kauaeranga Valley - we stayed overnight while our kids walked up to the Pinnacles Hut - and a short drive into town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrpmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
23.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#2 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
12.5 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
12.9 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolleston Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolleston Motel

Property: Rolleston Motel
Address: 105 Rolleston Street | P.O. Box 228, Thames, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rolleston Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rolleston Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing