We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee after 5? come here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wharf Coffee House and Bar

The Wharf Coffee House and Bar
Ranked #4 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Fast food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Coffee after 5? come here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I love the setting of this place...set on an old wharf with a fish and chip shop next door that delivers to your coffee table. Black coffee is hot and full bodied.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RuthHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
echuca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

You only have to see the number of cars parked nearby to see how popular this place is. Very fresh fish is cooked to your liking and in generous serves. We ordered 2snapper and 1 gurnard with kumara and potato chips. We found in our order an extra 2 pieces of fish. We ate at the accompanying cafe . While waiting I struck up a conversation with a lady who said she travelled regularly from 20 minutes away to get f & c as well as fresh fish. You wouldn't find better.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank garth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had coffee here recently on a Saturday afternoon. The coffee was really good, the service excellent and the views from the stools under the sliding windows very pleasant. The coffee house is small with nice seating both inside and outside. It is pleasant looking out over the Kauaeranga River. There are also great fish and chips next door.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Setting for a Drink Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Sitting right on the wharf handy to the new cycleway this little cafe is a great place on a sunny afternoon. It is small and has limited seating but it is still great. Right next door they do some of the freshest fish and chips around. These will be delivered to your table. Always an interesting place to relax for a while.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank whowesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have been to the Wharf Coffee Shop and Bar quite a few times sometimes just for coffee and a muffin and other times for lunch and a glass of wine. The fish and chips are always yummy and the food in the cabinet is also great. It's nice to sit outside on the wharf on a sunny day. The coffees are hot and good. This was a great idea and a asset to Thames. Check it out!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NZVICKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wharf Coffee House and Bar also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Wharf Coffee House and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing