We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun restaurant, good food”

Grahamstown Bar & Diner
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, Bc
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner - and very much enjoyed the experience. The food was tasty and plentiful, the service was friendly and upbeat. The interior is plain and perhaps a little on the austere side but the can-do attitude of the staff more than made up for it. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Demisemiquaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    52
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This place was packed every night from early to close. A great atmosphere and hearty menu which is excellent value for money. We loved the desserts!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank treajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“It’s all about EXCEEDING EXPECTATIONS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We went expecting the Junction Hotel and got a trendy titled GBD, Grahamstown Bar & Diner. E expected factory made deep fried so called pub food and we got gourmet meals at value prices.

As it was lunch we ordered a Mediterranean pizza and just as the menu described it was made fresh with excellent products for $18.50; and the real star turn, the Thai beef wrap - with a fresh garden mix salad and crispy noodles, all inside a toasted tortilla for $19.50.

The service was prompt, attentive and friendly and the food exceptional – well done GBD!

There is a good wine list with wines by the glasses from $7.50 which makes it some of the cheapest wine by the glass in NZ.

Our total bill for the pizza, Thai Salad wrap, glass of wine and glass of juice was $47.50 – real value for money that makes you want to come back time and time again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“excellent food, great service, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a really delightful dinner at GBD with both our meals including very fresh ingredients, beautifully cooked and nicely presented. It was a relatively busy Friday night but no issues with either ordering our meal an delivery of same-all the staff were both friendly and courteous.
Meal prices are very reasonable based on our 3 week experience of travel around the North Island. Drinks were a tad expensive but this was a common theme in our travels when eating in like establishments.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigers2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“More than a pub diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a quality restaurant, not just a 'bar & diner', with great service, good menu variety, with a great atmosphere. After checking out the other restaurants we came back to the GBD, had the local specials and we weren't disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Sitreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grahamstown Bar & Diner also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Grahamstown Bar & Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing