We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting find in old Thames”
Review of Melbourne Cafe

Melbourne Cafe
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Pauanui, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exciting find in old Thames”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Loads of eating places in Thames, but this place has the X Factor, great food and coffee. Right from the start it felt right, the waitress gave us a very big welcome and a very detailed description of the menu. I chose the daily special of mussel and bacon sliders, these were served with chunky home made chips, and mayo, my friend had a delicious sandwiches toasted served with zucchini and carrot relish, desert raspberry and chocolate friand serve with yoghurt and jam, all delicious.
Great conversion of an old building, we will be back.
Sandra W

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    82
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best in Thames!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We love this place - my mouth waters when I think of their fish curry & great coffee! Thames has been crying out for a great restaurant & its a definite 'must do' on our visits to Thames to the Dentist or Accountants. The old depot atmosphere is very chic & edgey, the owners are really friendly & remember our faces after our first visit which is so welcoming. The menu options are excellent and guaranteed to meet expectations every time. We love their story about kiwi boy meets Melbourne girl (or is it the other way around)! Love the comprehensive deli, french bakery & courtyard at the rear - you will love it too......guaranteed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwihoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A modern cafe in a rustic old NZ town”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were introduced to this lovely café for lunch by a relative who lives just outside of town. On a cold NZ day this was such a lovely place to shelter from the weather and enjoy some lovely local food. We all elected for the spicy fish curry with the option to have it gluten free. This was washed down with a nice chilled bottle of Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc and some coffees. The staff were lovely and attentive and although there were a number of covers there was plenty of space between tables. Well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brook R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“where buses lived”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

housed in the old bus depot in north pollen st Thames, coffee &food a+. friendly helpful service, plenty of space inside and out, relaxing having a meal in the court yard on a summers day .with a deli, art shop ,mustard seed shop under the one roof just adds to the flavour .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As we're from Melbourne we just HAD to go here to get a coffee. A we were not disappointed! The coffee was just great and the location really cool for such a small town. We really liked this place!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melbourne Cafe also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Melbourne Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing