We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhappy”
Review of Native Tree Cafe

Native Tree Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$13
Cuisines: British, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We bake a selection of pies, savouries, muffins, scones, biscuits and cakes fresh on site. We also have an extensive breakfast and brunch menu with something for everyone. We also have an extensive range of gluten free options available. You can dine in the cafe near the open plan kitchen, out on the deck or in the garden under the old crop topper green house.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unhappy”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

When travelling north we always stop at this pleasant cafe. Today, (being Anzac day) we expected to pay a surcharge so this was no surprise & we were quite comfortable with that. However, we bought our lunch (2 people) here & I asked for a cup of hot water as I am unable to partake of tea/coffee. I was charged $2 for a small cup of boiling water!!!! This is exorbitant in my opinion. Maybe 50c to $1 but $2!!! I wasn't buying the cup after all! Very disappointed. Pity as we enjoy the food here & make it a regular stop. Maybe we won't again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank motherduckRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry P, Owner at Native Tree Cafe, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
I'm putting my hand up as it was I that served you. We don't like unhappy customers here at the Native Tree! Please let us know next time you're coming past so I can make sure we send you away happy. Free hot water available with every purchace from now on. Thanks for all of your more favourable comments.

Apologies & Kindest Regards

Terry :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    38
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth stopping here”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We didn't expect to find such a little gem when we stopped here late one afternoon for a drink. We sat outside in a pretty garden which offered both sunshine and shade, with music playing unobtrusively in the background. There was also good indoor seating. The cabinets held a selection of cakes, pies etc which looked fresh and interesting.The service was efficient and pleasant. As an added bonus we were able to buy some fresh capsicums and cucumbers to take with us for our picnics. We were also lucky enough to be given three lovely date scones for free as it was the end of the day and they had to be disposed of. A good indication of the freshness of their food, as we enjoyed them the following day and they were still delicious!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iowstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngatea, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A favourite local cafe”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We often go for lunch and have always been more than happy with our choices and the excellent coffee. Everything is fresh and tasty. The new owners have certainly upped the standard of the whole complex, painting the main building, creating a beautiful garden setting and having plenty of indoor and outdoor seating areas. All the staff are polite and friendly - we would certainly recommend anyone to go to this café.

I can only assume that the negative comment regarding this café and the person's visit must have been made before the current owners took over. Maybe they should go back for another visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry P, Owner at Native Tree Cafe, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hey Guys

Thanks for the great review, very much appreciated as is your ongoing support. Unfortunately we were at the helm when the first review was written but I do think/ hope we have lifted our game a little since then. I think the review was fare for the time it was written. We appreciate all feedback, good or bad.

Thanks again.

Cheers

Terry & Jano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ngatea
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and,I called in for lunch. the food was great the service was exceptional and place is fantastic i would highly recommend it to everyone

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyrvowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An Absolute Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

So we were happily driving down the road from Auckland to Rotorua and had just passed a potential lunch stop when this cafe suddenly appeared. We turned off the road and into the slightly unpromising car park of what appeared to be a plant nursery and walked into the cafe.

What a lovely informal, outdoor and indoor space with superb home-made food, warm welcome and very good service. We cannot recommend this highly enough (and we are always a bit suspicious of this sort of 5 star recommendation on Trip Advisor which seems to be given out too easily) but this is a really great space. Completely unpretentious but the sort of place that lives in the memory and is one of the places we would seek out again on a return trip. Wonderful…..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Native Tree Cafe also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Native Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing