We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Picturesque:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Ranked #2 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful & Picturesque:)”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A big thankyou to Alby & Rachel for our fantastic stay. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Peace, beauty, clean, romantic & everything else in between. The chalets are very unique & perfect for a couples getaway weekend. The spa under the stars was a perfect end to the day & the breakie was a perfect start to the next day:). What lovely hosts. Definately hope to be back to stay again! Highly recommended!!:)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyBaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    33
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
129
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This was such a great way to kick off our trip to NZ! The views are amazing, the location is really good and the hosts were so welcoming. We were upgraded to a larger cottage since we stayed for 2 nights, which was a nice surprise since it allowed us to spread out a bit more. The nightcap with the homemade shortbread was delicious and breakfast was really good too, they were so flexible with when to deliver it and letting you pick what you want. It was so relaxing to sit on the patio and watch the sunset or look at the stars, it was really hard to leave!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aknoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Already planning my next visit.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Plenty of peace and quiet. Comfy beds. Fantastic views. So relaxing, especially sitting in the spa gazing at the stars. Only down side was only having a microwave in the chalet we were in. Make sure you request a kitchenette if staying a while.

Room Tip: They will respond to all your queries promptly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkingirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

4 of us stayed here and went to the above party. Rachel and Alby weren't phased with having a couple of our bikes in their carport. Cool spot and great relaxing views and was reasonably priced. Everything was clean and nicely presented. Breakfast was over generous, yummy and well received after a hard night out. Lovely young family making their way in life with a demanding work intense business well done guys you will succeed with the top service you are delivering.

Room Tip: Manuka chalet not suitable for small children under 5 years
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We wanted a quick getaway for the weekend away from the kids but still close enough to Auckland. Grafton Cottage and Chalets in Thames was perfect at just 1 hour and 20 minutes away. Hosts Rachael and Alby Tukia were so lovely - home baking and local winery liqueur on arrival, friendly and helpful hosts but not overbearing. The continental breakfast was delicious and just hit the spot perfectly. We sat in the spa pool watching the sun go down over the Firth of Thames and really relaxed. Our cottage was so sweet, comfy and quiet. I will tell our friends and family about the place as we highly recommend it. Thanks so much Rachel and Alby.

Room Tip: Rose Cottage is right next to the pool and spa so it feels like it is "yours".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were treated to a 'Romantic Mid-Winter Special' break by our daughter - wow - Rachel & Alby really made us feel so welcome we felt almost like family. The Camelia chalet had a lovely ambience and we were treated to a cheese platter with wine as we relaxed on the verandah overlooking the Firth of Thames. The starry night sky glinted off the hot spa pool, definitely romantic. The continental breakfast was plentiful and was served to our room. Each cedar chalet is nestled in amongst the trees and is set on the outskirts of Thames just off the road to the beautiful Kauaeranga Valley yet only a few minutes into the town itself. If you're looking for that special place to go, this is it. Give Rachel & Alby a call

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveandJeanSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you both for your taking your time to write your very kind review. You were a pleasure to have as guests here at Grafton Cottage and Chalets - it was truly lovely to get to know you both through our little chats. Your daughter was very kind to send you on a break away and you did have the perfect winter weather while you were here for the couple of days to enjoy the view as well as take a few walks. We look forward to hosting your friends soon and would love to have you back at Grafton if you get a chance to head this way again - just give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My family stayed in these chalets for one night but we all wished we could have stayed longer! This was our favorite overnight stay on our Australia/New Zealand trip. They have a perfect setting tucked into the hillside with great views, although parking is a bit limited. The chalets are perfect for families and allow for everyone to have a little space with the downstairs sitting room and upstairs bedrooms. Our family enjoyed the hot tub in the evening and a nice, cold breakfast was provided in the morning. Our host was friendly and helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyM5Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Manager at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Wow - your favourite overnight stay on your whole trip - that is SUPER to hear. We would have loved to have you stay longer - maybe next time! We are very lucky to be living in this setting everyday and we love the fact that we can share it with others so they can enjoy it too, like yourselves. Because every chalet is different we can cater for couples, friends and families who all need something a little different and like you say when travelling with a family that little bit of space is sometimes important when living out of suitcases! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay
here at Grafton and thanks so much for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
0.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
145 reviews
13.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
254 reviews
13.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Cottage and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Cottage and Chalets

Property: Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Address: 304 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grafton Cottage and Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lonely Planets pick for Thames. Nestled high in the hills above Thames, Grafton Cottage and Chalets is in a excluded, peaceful tree-lined setting far from any traffic noise. At the end of each day exploring the Coromandel, relax in the spa, or simply laze by the pool overlooking the sea. BBQ your dinner while watching the sun set over the sea or sample the local restaurants. We offer self contained chalet accommodation in individually designed studio, 1 and 2 bedroom cedar chalets. A delicious full continental breakfast (Grafton Cottage style), on site staff and daily housekeeping is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grafton Cottage and Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing