We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$112
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuscany on Thames(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rolleston Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Brookby Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
177
38
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
38
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnight capbiscuitsone nightlovely continental breakfastnew zealandenjoy the viewrata roomhill sidecoromandel peninsulafantastic viewsthese chaletson arrivallovely familyour honeymoonfresh milklovely couple
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for one night whilst touring North Island.
So glad we chose Grafton cottage and chalets.
On the hillside looking down towards Thames, the fantastic views whilst sipping cold beers on the decking were well worth it .
Our Chalet was private, clean and made a great change from staying in motels.
A good nights sleep in a comfy bed meant we awoke refreshed and breakfast delivered by host Alby is a nice touch.
Although our stay was short we really enjoyed it and would love to return again for longer stay sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My mum, sister and I stayed with the incredible Rachel and Alby for two nights over their one year anniversary of owning this idyllic retreat. Situated on the top of a hill overlooking the thames township and stunning coastal views it is the perfect haven to enjoy a weekend away or relax after doing The Pinnacles walk. Our hosts ensured our every comfort was provided and we were greated with a complimentary biscuit platter and local liquor for a nightcap to enjoy later. We were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the Manuka cottage, containing a double bed and two singles and a small private grass area and deck which overlooked the view. There is also a spa onsite which was the perfect way to relax after the big climb. We cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Charming and quiet. Albi, Rachel and three darling kids are your hosts and we loved staying in one of the cottages.

It was a perfect place for us to explore the area and the drive through the hills to Hot Beach etc., was stunning.

Our breakfast was brought in the morning and it was lovely and yummy.

When they cleaned our room, they tucked in my "travel pillow", which happens to be a stuffed bear my Mum gave me 30 years ago. (He travels with me everywhere)



We loved our stay and would highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Our room had a side deck that was private and offered a great breakfast spot. It's the highest room and has just hillside around it. It's a bit of a walk with suitcases, but worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phog67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Found by chance. Don't be put off by steep access as its so worth it for the views. Comfortable cabins, well appointed. May need a bit of special modernising but present owners only been here less than a year.
Do wish Rachel and Alibi every success with their dream. You are amazing couple.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dilg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent place to stay. Excellent views over Thames and the Firth of Thames. Very quiet and very well set up site. Chalet was good - although it was cold there was good heating provided. Really enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceD122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews