We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant location, pleasant hosts, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Ranked #2 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Thames is not a tourist oriented town however a good place to base yourself when visiting the Coromandel Peninsula as you can do a loop of the Peninsula. Grafton cottages are elevated and offer good ocean views of Firth of Thames to the West. The cottage we stayed in was clean well maintained and good size being over two levels. Very helpful hosts who even lent us a shovel to take to the hot water beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greentoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

You are spot on - Thames (and Grafton Cottage and Chalets of course) is a fantastic base for exploring The Coromandel. We are about an hour away from Coromandel Town and Hot Water Beach plus Cathedral Cove so day trips are easy without the need to pick and pack up each day or it can be done in a days loop as well. We do love our views that Grafton has to offer for our guests and the sunsetting in the evening can just be magical. Thanks for taking your time to share your experience about your stay with us here at Grafton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent one night in a Grafton chalet. Because the chalets are on top of a steep hill, the best feature was the deck with a great view of the town and Firth of Thames. Lots of birds hopping around in the trees and a great take-out fish and chips dinner from the wharf nearby were highlights. The upstairs bedroom was very comfortable and quiet. Downstairs, the bathroom and main room, while clean, were a bit "frayed around the edges". Breakfast was very basic but adequate. The driveway into the chalets is narrow and steep in spots so may be difficult for a large vehicle. Since the car parking is not immediately at the chalets, it may also be difficult if carrying a lot of luggage although the friendly hosts volunteered to help with this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCTraveler058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your fish n chips on the chalet deck. It is always a great way to end your day after a day of sight seeing or driving. Since returning home, a year ago, to New Zealand we too love and appreciate more the sound of the birds song that Grafton has to offer. The Morepork (owl) hooting at night is also a real treat. We are in the process of putting new bathrooms the chalets as well as painting them, as we mentioned to you. The Kowhai Chalet where you stayed now has a new bathroom and vinyl.
Our breakfast is not a full cooked breakfast but does include juices, fruits, cereal, yoghurts, toast, brewed coffee etc so it does provide a good start to get your through to lunch.
We are always here to help with getting your luggage for you as well as dropping you to and from town for dinner if you did choose to head out and wanted a drink or two.
Thanks for sharing your experience with all about your night with us here at Grafton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for one night whilst touring North Island.
So glad we chose Grafton cottage and chalets.
On the hillside looking down towards Thames, the fantastic views whilst sipping cold beers on the decking were well worth it .
Our Chalet was private, clean and made a great change from staying in motels.
A good nights sleep in a comfy bed meant we awoke refreshed and breakfast delivered by host Alby is a nice touch.
Although our stay was short we really enjoyed it and would love to return again for longer stay sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My mum, sister and I stayed with the incredible Rachel and Alby for two nights over their one year anniversary of owning this idyllic retreat. Situated on the top of a hill overlooking the thames township and stunning coastal views it is the perfect haven to enjoy a weekend away or relax after doing The Pinnacles walk. Our hosts ensured our every comfort was provided and we were greated with a complimentary biscuit platter and local liquor for a nightcap to enjoy later. We were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the Manuka cottage, containing a double bed and two singles and a small private grass area and deck which overlooked the view. There is also a spa onsite which was the perfect way to relax after the big climb. We cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Charming and quiet. Albi, Rachel and three darling kids are your hosts and we loved staying in one of the cottages.

It was a perfect place for us to explore the area and the drive through the hills to Hot Beach etc., was stunning.

Our breakfast was brought in the morning and it was lovely and yummy.

When they cleaned our room, they tucked in my "travel pillow", which happens to be a stuffed bear my Mum gave me 30 years ago. (He travels with me everywhere)



We loved our stay and would highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Our room had a side deck that was private and offered a great breakfast spot. It's the highest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phog67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Found by chance. Don't be put off by steep access as its so worth it for the views. Comfortable cabins, well appointed. May need a bit of special modernising but present owners only been here less than a year.
Do wish Rachel and Alibi every success with their dream. You are amazing couple.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dilg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent place to stay. Excellent views over Thames and the Firth of Thames. Very quiet and very well set up site. Chalet was good - although it was cold there was good heating provided. Really enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceD122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.8 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
23.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Cottage and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Cottage and Chalets

Address: 304 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: £70 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grafton Cottage and Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lonely Planets pick for Thames. Nestled high in the hills above Thames, Grafton Cottage and Chalets is in a excluded, peaceful tree-lined setting far from any traffic noise. At the end of each day exploring the Coromandel, relax in the spa, or simply laze by the pool overlooking the sea. BBQ your dinner while watching the sun set over the sea or sample the local restaurants. We offer self contained chalet accommodation in individually designed studio, 1 and 2 bedroom cedar chalets. A delicious full continental breakfast (Grafton Cottage style), on site staff and daily housekeeping is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grafton Cottage and Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing