We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Ranked #2 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My partner and I spent Christmas staying here and could not of asked for a more relaxing stay. We stayed in the Camellia suite which was beautifully presented and have stunning views of the Firth of Thames from our deck. The highlight for us had to be Santa delivering our breakfast on Christmas morning - Thanks Alby!! The whole place has brilliant views and anything you need, Rachel and Alby are there to help. It was also a great location to explore the Coromandel Peninsula. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e-hontheroadagain84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Haha – we had a little fun with Santa delivering breakfast too! Just working on the Easter bunny costume!
We are pleased that it was a highlight for you while staying with us here at Grafton as we like to think you leave having had a memorable and enjoyable time. We know that you were after some time to relax and unwind and are wrapped that you were able to do this in the Camellia Suite, although the weather wasn’t that great to enjoy the private deck. We also agree and think it is a good base for exploring the Coromandel as day trips can be made easily to top destinations and the scenic drives are about an hour at the most.
Thanks so much for sharing your stay at Grafton with others, we really appreciate it. Also thanks in advance for the recommendations to friends and family. Word of mouth is a big help and also great advertising for us. Just within the last week we have had guests stay from both the UK and Tahiti due to being recommended by a friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Grafton Cottage and Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed at Grafton Cottages with a couple of friends and had such a fantastic stay and would recommend it to anyone visiting this part of New Zealand. We received such a warm welcome from Rachel when we arrived and the cottage we stayed in was fantastic! There is amazing views from the deck and a great pool and barbecue area. We liked it so much we went back to stay again a few days later and I spent my last night in New Zealand here having a barbecue and enjoying the view! Loved it, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us the two nights! It is really neat when we get a booking and our guests love it as much as we do and come back, even if it is two nights later! The fish you caught and gave to us was yummy - thank you. Having spent your last night here in NZ with us we did think of you all day as you had to say goodbye to your friends - hopefully it wasn't too bad?
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us here at Grafton and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have recently returned from an overnight stay at the Grafton Cottage and Chalets and
I can honestly say it was one of the most pleasant experiences I have had at a property in a long, long time. Alby and Rachel and their delightful children made the stay a memorable one .
The accommodation was super clean and well equipped. The pool and spa topped it off!
Fabulous views of the Firth of Thames from everywhere on the property. As a well travelled Travel Agent I can only say you would go a long way to find a better run Motel and to top it off they supply a lovely continental breakfast delivered to your room at a time suitable to you.
Thanks again guys and we will definitely be back for a longer stay.
Kind Regards Sue

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms at the Property and would have happily have stayed in any one of them. All spot...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Thanks Sue for taking your time to write such a kind and thoughtful review about your stay with us. We are really pleased that you managed to enjoy the pool and spa in your short stay as we know you were here for a special occasion. It was also great that you were also able to look around the other chalets so you now know what you want next time when you bring more of the family with you! We look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Highly recommend anyone to stay here. Brilliant start to our New Zealand holiday. Alby and Rachel are a delightful couple, friendly and helpful. We had Kowhai Chalet, large double bed upstairs, own decked area where we had the wonderful large breakfast in the morning which was bought to the door. Clean and very comfortable. In the evening enjoyed the hot tub watching the sun go down over the amazing views. Wished we could have stayed longer.

What a find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

We are so pleased that you managed to stay with us after the uncertainty at the beginning and we are wrapped that you enjoyed your night with us in the Kowhai Chalet. The hot tub is a real treat after a day out and especially on a beautiful clear night with the abundance of stars. Thanks for taking your time to write a lovely review about your stay here with us. Maybe next time you can stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Thames is not a tourist oriented town however a good place to base yourself when visiting the Coromandel Peninsula as you can do a loop of the Peninsula. Grafton cottages are elevated and offer good ocean views of Firth of Thames to the West. The cottage we stayed in was clean well maintained and good size being over two levels. Very helpful hosts who even lent us a shovel to take to the hot water beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greentoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

You are spot on - Thames (and Grafton Cottage and Chalets of course) is a fantastic base for exploring The Coromandel. We are about an hour away from Coromandel Town and Hot Water Beach plus Cathedral Cove so day trips are easy without the need to pick and pack up each day or it can be done in a days loop as well. We do love our views that Grafton has to offer for our guests and the sunsetting in the evening can just be magical. Thanks for taking your time to share your experience about your stay with us here at Grafton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent one night in a Grafton chalet. Because the chalets are on top of a steep hill, the best feature was the deck with a great view of the town and Firth of Thames. Lots of birds hopping around in the trees and a great take-out fish and chips dinner from the wharf nearby were highlights. The upstairs bedroom was very comfortable and quiet. Downstairs, the bathroom and main room, while clean, were a bit "frayed around the edges". Breakfast was very basic but adequate. The driveway into the chalets is narrow and steep in spots so may be difficult for a large vehicle. Since the car parking is not immediately at the chalets, it may also be difficult if carrying a lot of luggage although the friendly hosts volunteered to help with this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCTraveler058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your fish n chips on the chalet deck. It is always a great way to end your day after a day of sight seeing or driving. Since returning home, a year ago, to New Zealand we too love and appreciate more the sound of the birds song that Grafton has to offer. The Morepork (owl) hooting at night is also a real treat. We are in the process of putting new bathrooms the chalets as well as painting them, as we mentioned to you. The Kowhai Chalet where you stayed now has a new bathroom and vinyl.
Our breakfast is not a full cooked breakfast but does include juices, fruits, cereal, yoghurts, toast, brewed coffee etc so it does provide a good start to get your through to lunch.
We are always here to help with getting your luggage for you as well as dropping you to and from town for dinner if you did choose to head out and wanted a drink or two.
Thanks for sharing your experience with all about your night with us here at Grafton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for one night whilst touring North Island.
So glad we chose Grafton cottage and chalets.
On the hillside looking down towards Thames, the fantastic views whilst sipping cold beers on the decking were well worth it .
Our Chalet was private, clean and made a great change from staying in motels.
A good nights sleep in a comfy bed meant we awoke refreshed and breakfast delivered by host Alby is a nice touch.
Although our stay was short we really enjoyed it and would love to return again for longer stay sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
18.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
115 reviews
13.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
196 reviews
20.9 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Cottage and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Cottage and Chalets

Address: 304 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: £67 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grafton Cottage and Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lonely Planets pick for Thames. Nestled high in the hills above Thames, Grafton Cottage and Chalets is in a excluded, peaceful tree-lined setting far from any traffic noise. At the end of each day exploring the Coromandel, relax in the spa, or simply laze by the pool overlooking the sea. BBQ your dinner while watching the sun set over the sea or sample the local restaurants. We offer self contained chalet accommodation in individually designed studio, 1 and 2 bedroom cedar chalets. A delicious full continental breakfast (Grafton Cottage style), on site staff and daily housekeeping is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grafton Cottage and Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing