We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Ranked #2 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts but overpriced”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay but it was very expensive for what we got compared to other locations. The rooms were very dated and definitely need a makeover to justify the price we were charged. The hosts were lovely though and were very helpful. The wifi was slow and unreliable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Choccylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks so much for your time to write your review about your time here at Grafton with us and we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay. It is a shame that you never came and mentioned the wi-fi as we would have been more then happy to reboot the system for you or help you out with your devices. All the chalets were set up with the complimentary wi-fi in April 2013 and since then we have only had the occasional problem of connecting.

The chalets are all different in size and facilities which is great as we are able to offer quite a range in prices to suit all budgets. Having been here just over a year we initially did some research on our prices and in comparison to other accommodation providers here in Thames our rate is fairly competitive. Many charge a similar price or more for a studio without the extras such as breakfast, fresh milk, liqueur and baking or unlimited wi-fi. Comparing other New Zealand destinations maybe different; something we will try and have a look at.

As we probably discussed with you, in the year that we have been here we have done quite a lot to the grounds and different chalets and slowly but surely we are getting them to how we want them. Bathrooms have been completed in a couple of chalets and just this week one chalet is getting new carpet and another new curtains. We are definitely getting jobs ticked of our wish list. Even so we still provide quality bed linen and furnishings that co-ordinate with the existing mix of modern and vintage furniture to create the ‘cottage/chalet’ feel.

We do hope that you still enjoyed your view and surrounds and had some time for a swim or relaxed in the hot tub while staying with us here at Grafton Cottage and Chalets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    33
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
128
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This turned out to be a wonderful stay, with a very roomy cabin, great view, like being in our own tree house far up a hill. Easy private car parking. The room was very clean, with a deck to lounge on. A very tasty breakfast was brought to the cabin in the morning. The hosts were all one could hope to expect, very friendly and helpful, esp with the luggage. Had great conversations with both of them, and almost wished they didn't live so far away from us. Not inexpensive, but we felt it well worth it, being on vacation. Made our day/night. Could have easily stayed longer. The picturesque town is an easy drive back to the highway, where we found a very good Thai restaurant for dinner. The drive north along the shore is very pretty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We are thrilled that your stay with us here at Grafton made your day/night. We often get the tree house comment from guests which is so lovely for us to hear because giving a unique and different experience is perfect. Many of our guests have pre booked their holiday from day one right through to their last night and then some go day by day. We often get a second night booked from the day by day guests (if they are not on a tight schedule). Once here they just enjoy the time to relax and unwind in their own space, enjoying the views and nature that we have to offer. Often we hear from pre booked guests that they wished that they had stayed another night. Being so close to everything on the Coromandel we are that perfect base to explore and then to come back to each day, so more then one night works well here at Grafton. We are happy though that you managed the one night and got a little taste of what we are all about.
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review and sharing your experience with others. Maybe we will meet again in the future for a few more great conversations and to build on a continent apart friendship!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We booked online at the last minute but the hosts Alby and Rachel had upgraded our room and were waiting up for us. The room was very pleasant with excellent views of the coromandel. Breakfast was delivered with a smile and Alby gave us loads of advice about where to travel in New Zealand. Overall a wonderful experience although it was sadly too cold to use the hot tub!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Atraveller1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Your best stay during your trip to New Zealand - FANTASTIC!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade. We like to please and know that others are enjoying the space and views too that we have on offer here at Grafton. We are happy to be able to offer an upgrade when we can and sometimes it’s just the little things like this that add to your holiday experience.
It’s a shame that you did not manage to get into the hot tub. I am like you too, once you are in there it is perfect but it’s the getting in and out on a cold evening is what I don’t like!
We appreciate the time you have taken to write about your experience that you had during your stay with us here at Grafton Cottage and Chalets. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My partner and I spent Christmas staying here and could not of asked for a more relaxing stay. We stayed in the Camellia suite which was beautifully presented and have stunning views of the Firth of Thames from our deck. The highlight for us had to be Santa delivering our breakfast on Christmas morning - Thanks Alby!! The whole place has brilliant views and anything you need, Rachel and Alby are there to help. It was also a great location to explore the Coromandel Peninsula. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e-hontheroadagain84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Haha – we had a little fun with Santa delivering breakfast too! Just working on the Easter bunny costume!
We are pleased that it was a highlight for you while staying with us here at Grafton as we like to think you leave having had a memorable and enjoyable time. We know that you were after some time to relax and unwind and are wrapped that you were able to do this in the Camellia Suite, although the weather wasn’t that great to enjoy the private deck. We also agree and think it is a good base for exploring the Coromandel as day trips can be made easily to top destinations and the scenic drives are about an hour at the most.
Thanks so much for sharing your stay at Grafton with others, we really appreciate it. Also thanks in advance for the recommendations to friends and family. Word of mouth is a big help and also great advertising for us. Just within the last week we have had guests stay from both the UK and Tahiti due to being recommended by a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed at Grafton Cottages with a couple of friends and had such a fantastic stay and would recommend it to anyone visiting this part of New Zealand. We received such a warm welcome from Rachel when we arrived and the cottage we stayed in was fantastic! There is amazing views from the deck and a great pool and barbecue area. We liked it so much we went back to stay again a few days later and I spent my last night in New Zealand here having a barbecue and enjoying the view! Loved it, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us the two nights! It is really neat when we get a booking and our guests love it as much as we do and come back, even if it is two nights later! The fish you caught and gave to us was yummy - thank you. Having spent your last night here in NZ with us we did think of you all day as you had to say goodbye to your friends - hopefully it wasn't too bad?
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us here at Grafton and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have recently returned from an overnight stay at the Grafton Cottage and Chalets and
I can honestly say it was one of the most pleasant experiences I have had at a property in a long, long time. Alby and Rachel and their delightful children made the stay a memorable one .
The accommodation was super clean and well equipped. The pool and spa topped it off!
Fabulous views of the Firth of Thames from everywhere on the property. As a well travelled Travel Agent I can only say you would go a long way to find a better run Motel and to top it off they supply a lovely continental breakfast delivered to your room at a time suitable to you.
Thanks again guys and we will definitely be back for a longer stay.
Kind Regards Sue

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms at the Property and would have happily have stayed in any one of them. All spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thanks Sue for taking your time to write such a kind and thoughtful review about your stay with us. We are really pleased that you managed to enjoy the pool and spa in your short stay as we know you were here for a special occasion. It was also great that you were also able to look around the other chalets so you now know what you want next time when you bring more of the family with you! We look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Highly recommend anyone to stay here. Brilliant start to our New Zealand holiday. Alby and Rachel are a delightful couple, friendly and helpful. We had Kowhai Chalet, large double bed upstairs, own decked area where we had the wonderful large breakfast in the morning which was bought to the door. Clean and very comfortable. In the evening enjoyed the hot tub watching the sun go down over the amazing views. Wished we could have stayed longer.

What a find.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
We are so pleased that you managed to stay with us after the uncertainty at the beginning and we are wrapped that you enjoyed your night with us in the Kowhai Chalet. The hot tub is a real treat after a day out and especially on a beautiful clear night with the abundance of stars. Thanks for taking your time to write a lovely review about your stay here with us. Maybe next time you can stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.8 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
18.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
110 reviews
13.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Cottage and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Cottage and Chalets

Property: Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Address: 304 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grafton Cottage and Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lonely Planets pick for Thames. Nestled high in the hills above Thames, Grafton Cottage and Chalets is in a excluded, peaceful tree-lined setting far from any traffic noise. At the end of each day exploring the Coromandel, relax in the spa, or simply laze by the pool overlooking the sea. BBQ your dinner while watching the sun set over the sea or sample the local restaurants. We offer self contained chalet accommodation in individually designed studio, 1 and 2 bedroom cedar chalets. A delicious full continental breakfast (Grafton Cottage style), on site staff and daily housekeeping is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grafton Cottage and Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing