We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room at a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coastal Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, CA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good room at a good location”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Coastal Motor Lodge is located a couple of km from the "downtown" of Thames. Nice views of the Firth of Thames are to be had from the Lodge.

Our room was an A-frame unit with interesting architecture. It was large. It was clean. The kitchen was a separate nook with cooktop, microwave, refrigerator and adequate cookware to prepare a small meal. There was only a small counter to serve as a table. We had an upper unit with a nice outside deck with a table and a couple of chairs. All the kitchen appliances worked ok and the kitchen was very clean.

The bedroom area was behind a small dividing wall from the living room area. The bed was very comfortable. All the linens were clean. The tall windows, without shades on the upper parts did let in a lot of light that meant sleeping-in was difficult. Also unfortunate, we could hear noise from the road. The bedroom area could use some more horizontal space for suitcases.

The bathroom had a tub with shower. It, too, was very clean.

This could be a place where I could stay for a while.

I could stay a while here. If it were not for the traffic noise I would rate it excellent.

Room Tip: Pay for the upper unit to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    50
    18
    0
    5
See reviews for
29
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Found this on Lonely Planet guide. No wonder they recommend it.
Lovely architecture and beautiful rooms - reminds me of a Swiss Chalet.
About 3 mins drive from Thames, overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the family room which wasn't as fancy as the studio lodges but was perfect for us. It had a bedroom with single beds away from the main room which easily fit the porta cot for our bub. The setting was beautiful - tranquil and picturesque and we were able to use the common bbq and outdoor seating in the evening which was lovely. The owners were friendly and helpful. The shower was the only downside - just a bit small and dated.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debraf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed just one night but it was at the end of a VERY long trip from the US. Could not have been more pleased. Cottages are a little small and not fancy but well maintained and spotlessly clean. Ease in finding them (on main route) also made it nice when we were so tired. Staff was exceptionally friendly/helpful and breakfast the next morning (delivered to your room!) was superb. One of the few places we've stayed where I'd say you get MORE than you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here for four nights on our way back to Auckland. Clean apartments: the construction with parking space beneath the living space was a good idea, and kept the car cool during the day. We were occasionally kept awake by a manic bird running around on the roof, although we can't really blame the hosts for that :)

We used this as a base to explore the Coromandel Peninsular and would have to say that you can expect some fairly long drives to reach some of the nicer beaches such as New Chums and Opito Bay. Nearby Thames offers a good range of restaurants, and we would highly recommend a visit to the Rapaura Water Gardens (also nearby).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We spent 30 days here, and it was wonderful. Karen and Colin are excellent hosts. We arrived after a 26 hour flight from the UK. They gave us a wonderful welcome and made us confortable. The accomadation was excellent, spotless and serviced daily and had every thing in it. We choose a raised lodge for the magnificent view of the ocean. All the staff were polite and curtious. The car parking was right out side our lodge.
karen and Colin were extremely helpful to us first timers in NZ, they sorted out our car hire and took us down to the town. They are both very knowledgeable about Thames and the Coramandle perninsular and gave us good advice. They have a wide range of brouchers and if what you want is not there I am sure they could find it out for you. The free e mail was a real bonus as we had to keep the UK informed regularly, so top marks for that. The food was excelent and a good choice, thats delivered to your door. They really do there best to accomodate your times as well. As for coast road, the lodges are far enough back not to interfere and the trees make a wonderful sight. Overall its difficult to be brief about the Coastal and Karen with Colin really made our stay in N Z an extremely wonderful time. All I can say is we really reccomend it to anyone wanting to visit, you will not be dissapointed. If we are down there again its a definite for us.
Fred and Peter

Room Tip: dificult as they all good. The ground level are bigger ? a family of 4. The raised are great for2 0r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thankyou so much for the great review. We did enjoy having you here and hope you both had a safe trip home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

good location at the base of the Coromandel Peninsula - reasonable rates, free wifi, decent rooms with full kitchen. Some mosquito issues first night - closed the windows and killed them all! Nice view of the coast and far enough from the "road" that the noise wasn't an issue. 5 minutes drive into town with grocery stores, movie theaters and some mid ranged restaurants.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RWRocksOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
2.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
110 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
100 reviews
22.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
12.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
255 reviews
10.5 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motor Lodge

Property: Coastal Motor Lodge
Address: 608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Motor Lodge is a four star Qualmark rated Motel located at the gateway of the magnificent Coromandel Peninsula. Accommodation is set amongst beautiful lush grounds directly opposite the Hauraki Gulf and provides a range of quality accommodation including elevated sea view studio chalets, family room, access rooms and budget style cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coastal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing