We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for unforgettable sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coastal Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for unforgettable sunset”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the last week of our 10-wek trip to NZ. We were in unit 12, an elevated chalet, which offered somewhat more privacy than others, with stunning views over the Firth of Thames; on the second-last night, we were gifted with a beautiful sunset!
The owners, Colina and Karen and their staff did everything to ensure we had a comfortable stay. The setting, although on the main highway, was surprisingly quiet at night, if you don't mind falling asleep to the sounds of the cycadas! The grounds are lovely and the large terrace gave that extra space not always available in motels. There was a communal BBQ which came in handy, as well as laundry room ($3 per wash and dry each).
The unit itself had a king-size bed, large bathroom with shower, kitchenette, dining area, TV, and free Internet. It was very airy with a good through-breeze.
The only thing I would mention, is that there was no stove (or hob) in the kitchenette, so making certain dishes was a bit of a challenge, with only the microwave and electric frying pan (and BBQ). However, that is a minor thing. The mattress was a bit too soft (old?) and the linens not quite as new or fresh as one would expect for the price; as I said, a minor thing, but these details would make the difference between 4 and 5 star rating.
Still, we would definitely recommend this place, the setting was unforgettable !

Room Tip: Ask for unit 12, there are no neighbours on one side, it is further back from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orleans51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    50
    17
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
80
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, Dorset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Attractive motel, comfortable and fairly priced. It's just over the road from the beach. The rooms are big which is always a bonus. Wifi is a bit tricky but possible near the main reception area. Don't forget to visit Driving Creek Railway up the peninsula a bit - a treat. The views on the Coromandel are wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italophile27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Coastal Motor Lodge is located a couple of km from the "downtown" of Thames. Nice views of the Firth of Thames are to be had from the Lodge.

Our room was an A-frame unit with interesting architecture. It was large. It was clean. The kitchen was a separate nook with cooktop, microwave, refrigerator and adequate cookware to prepare a small meal. There was only a small counter to serve as a table. We had an upper unit with a nice outside deck with a table and a couple of chairs. All the kitchen appliances worked ok and the kitchen was very clean.

The bedroom area was behind a small dividing wall from the living room area. The bed was very comfortable. All the linens were clean. The tall windows, without shades on the upper parts did let in a lot of light that meant sleeping-in was difficult. Also unfortunate, we could hear noise from the road. The bedroom area could use some more horizontal space for suitcases.

The bathroom had a tub with shower. It, too, was very clean.

This could be a place where I could stay for a while.

I could stay a while here. If it were not for the traffic noise I would rate it excellent.

Room Tip: Pay for the upper unit to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Found this on Lonely Planet guide. No wonder they recommend it.
Lovely architecture and beautiful rooms - reminds me of a Swiss Chalet.
About 3 mins drive from Thames, overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the family room which wasn't as fancy as the studio lodges but was perfect for us. It had a bedroom with single beds away from the main room which easily fit the porta cot for our bub. The setting was beautiful - tranquil and picturesque and we were able to use the common bbq and outdoor seating in the evening which was lovely. The owners were friendly and helpful. The shower was the only downside - just a bit small and dated.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debraf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed just one night but it was at the end of a VERY long trip from the US. Could not have been more pleased. Cottages are a little small and not fancy but well maintained and spotlessly clean. Ease in finding them (on main route) also made it nice when we were so tired. Staff was exceptionally friendly/helpful and breakfast the next morning (delivered to your room!) was superb. One of the few places we've stayed where I'd say you get MORE than you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here for four nights on our way back to Auckland. Clean apartments: the construction with parking space beneath the living space was a good idea, and kept the car cool during the day. We were occasionally kept awake by a manic bird running around on the roof, although we can't really blame the hosts for that :)

We used this as a base to explore the Coromandel Peninsular and would have to say that you can expect some fairly long drives to reach some of the nicer beaches such as New Chums and Opito Bay. Nearby Thames offers a good range of restaurants, and we would highly recommend a visit to the Rapaura Water Gardens (also nearby).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
2.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
97 reviews
22.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
12.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
243 reviews
10.5 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motor Lodge

Property: Coastal Motor Lodge
Address: 608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames SH 25, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Motor Lodge is a four star Qualmark rated Motel located at the gateway of the magnificent Coromandel Peninsula. Accommodation is set amongst beautiful lush grounds directly opposite the Hauraki Gulf and provides a range of quality accommodation including elevated sea view studio chalets, family room, access rooms and budget style cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coastal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing