We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well presented and comfortable motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coastal Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A well presented and comfortable motel.”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The rooms are quite spacious and well equipped and the evening out look across to the setting sun over the water can be pretty special. There are no food outlets or other services within walking distance but the Thames CBD is only a short drive away and has plenty of restaurants and other facilities. This is a good base from which to explore the very scenic Coromandel peninsular but I would suggest an upper level unit as our ground floor room was subject to some plumbing and other noises from the unit above. Don't count on the free WiFi too much as it would only work for me when I was outside on the terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    50
    18
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This motel is beautifully situated on the Firth of Thames. We were made welcome and the chance to sit outside on the deck as the sun went down was much appreciated. But the road is very close and as we stayed on a Friday night, many people were headed up the Coromandel Peninsula for the weekend which made for a noisy night. It may have just been that we were in unit 16 nearest the road and other units would have been quieter, and maybe on other nights the road is less busy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavatron07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of a NZ touring holiday. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we loved the views from the lodges which were very spacious. It's a great place to stay for exploring the lovely Coromandel peninsular plus scope for lots of bird watching.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HattieWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here on a quick trip around the Coromandel so did not spend a lot of time, just a bed for the night. Location is very good, just a short distance from Thames along the coast. We booked online and communications were good. Check in was quick and friendly. The cabin we had was tidy and roomy with separate bedroom and separate small kitchen. Bathroom was also small. So overall quite average for this type of motel. Below average was the loose toilet seat, mould in the shower, ants on the vanity (but insect repellant supplied!) - disappointing. Wifi is free, but we couldn't get it to work as the signal was irregular - they need to improve it although their room manual (good) does acknowledge that there are problems. I wouldn't discourage others from coming here, but we would probably try another place next time.

Room Tip: The chalets might be a better bet. The cabins have no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eudele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Lovely accommodations in Thames and oh so convenient for the rest of the area. Spotlessly clean and somewhere you will want to return to after a busy day of touring around the Coromandel Peninsula. We stayed there in November 2012 and the place was just coming under new owner/managers. What lovely people and I must point out how far they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The accommodations are just want you need, and the beds are certainly comfortable. I lnot only rsearched ahead of time, but looked at several other places in the immediate area while there, and this place wins hands down. Comfort, cleanliness, location and a great view with-- as others have already pointed out-- great sunsets. Oh, and a great mascot named Muffy as well. The owenrs were so sweet. When I left my jacket hanging in the closet, they mailed it on to the next hotel for me. Coastal Motor Lodge is a great value and definitely where you want to stay in this area.

Room Tip: See photos-- there is a room on the end with a beautiful bay window that looks out on the .... bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed at this place in November 2012. Found the place to be clean and tidy. Good value for money and the new owners we so nice and friendly. The beautiful sunset over the bay just added to the setting. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Having a cottage to our selves was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pryors67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Only a few Klms from town, this wonderful motel is certainly worth the drive. The chalets are clean and comfortable with a kitchenette and balcony. The balcony offers views of wonderful sunsets and with each having a table and chairs offers the perfect spot for evening drinks prior to going out for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ries_Kitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
2.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
99 reviews
22.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
250 reviews
10.5 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motor Lodge

Property: Coastal Motor Lodge
Address: 608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames SH 25, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Motor Lodge is a four star Qualmark rated Motel located at the gateway of the magnificent Coromandel Peninsula. Accommodation is set amongst beautiful lush grounds directly opposite the Hauraki Gulf and provides a range of quality accommodation including elevated sea view studio chalets, family room, access rooms and budget style cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coastal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing