We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coastal Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rolleston Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grafton Cottage and Chalets(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookby Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
75
54
18
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
54
18
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewchalet stylechalet roomfree wificoromandel peninsulatall windowsopposite the beachquick driveefficient kitchennice outlooklarge supermarketuseful advicemussel kitchengrounds are lovelycomfy bedan upgradeclose to town
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

while driving picked the Coastal Motor Lodge as it was across from the ocean. Check in with Liz was amazing what a lovely lady she upgraded our room when she heard it was my birthday and then brought over baking for us it was delicious slice she had just made. The free internet was good as there was no limit and worked great. We had unit 16 though close to the road we did not notice the road noise as we were to busy appreciating the great view. The room was clean and tidy and well stocked with cups plates etc, as we had family come over to visit. We would recommend if you are heading to Thames to go and stay there and meet Liz as she is bright cherry and very helpful lady who went the extra mile for us, thank you very much

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Dearest hostes, Tom and Liz True,
While we were stayng at your place we had a real good time. We aprecheatet your hospitality, kindness and you have been always very helpful. Thank you for all you sevices.Spezially we want to thank Liz for this good proposals you made us to have a good time at the Bay of Islands. We always will recomend you to other Swiss Travelers, visiting Thames.
Thanks again for everything and a Big Kiss to Liz.
Heinz Rohrer and friends from OLD SWITZERLAND

Room Tip: All the rooms have been really silent and comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEINZ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

As we didn't get all the way to Coromandel, we tried the night in Thames. Drove past a few places but decided on Coastal. The rooms were very quaint, very comfortable and extremely clean. Well done - its so nice to stay in clean places like this one. The bed was amazing, crisp linen, soft blankets and plenty of good quality towels. Good friendly service, hospitable couple. First time I've rated a place 5/5 - not for the views or luxury - but everything was clean and good quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Our whole experience was excellent. Friendly welcome, useful advice on what to do, spacious accomodation and on our first night - a sunset to die for. The motel is just across the road from the water so the view from our deck was beautiful. That road can be a lttle bit noisy at times, there are some big logging trucks that use it, but it honestly didn't bother us and we had the unit closest to the road - which incidentally has by far the best view.
Thames itself is a "one street town" but you can find pretty much everything you need on that one street and there is also a large supermarket.

Room Tip: There are ground floor and upper floor units. We had one on the upper floor and I'd recommend it, particularly if like us you want to sit on the deck.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEROUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The rooms are quite spacious and well equipped and the evening out look across to the setting sun over the water can be pretty special. There are no food outlets or other services within walking distance but the Thames CBD is only a short drive away and has plenty of restaurants and other facilities. This is a good base from which to explore the very scenic Coromandel peninsular but I would suggest an upper level unit as our ground floor room was subject to some plumbing and other noises from the unit above. Don't count on the free WiFi too much as it would only work for me when I was outside on the terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews