We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Quiet & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coastal Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage which was immaculately clean and had everything we needed to make a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The accommodation is situated in a lovely position just outside of Thames, across the road from the sea. There are nice walks nearby and the gardens and grounds are well maintained. The moteliers are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cottage (?number 1) which is farthest from the reception office is detached from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntipodeanGenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Nice & clean accommodation at a reasonable price. We only had a 1 night stay but were satisfied with everything. Friendly hosts & free wifi a bonus. Rooms had everything we required. Easy access location a little out of town

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank G00nerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The motel is at Thames town. Very conveniently located and near to the shops in town and the one shopping centre in town.

Room is self contained and clean.

However, there was no aircon. The motel has a unit providing cool air, but tat is not useful. We need to open the windows and we find insects flying into the room. I have 10 bites (likely from mozzies) over my 2 days stay!!!....

It is a nice motel. Will be great if it can add insect screens or install aircon to prevent insects from flying into the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at the Coastal Motor Lodge while on holiday on the Coromandel peninsular recently. The owners were away however their minders Russel and his wife made us feel totally at home. We initially booked in for one night and within an hour we were asking if the room available for three nights as we would base ourselves there and explore this great region from here. The rooms are spacious, modern and very clean with an outlook over the firth of Thames. located close to town this is the ideal motel to stay at while in the region. Thanks for the hospitality and the local knowledge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundownerwestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

while driving picked the Coastal Motor Lodge as it was across from the ocean. Check in with Liz was amazing what a lovely lady she upgraded our room when she heard it was my birthday and then brought over baking for us it was delicious slice she had just made. The free internet was good as there was no limit and worked great. We had unit 16 though close to the road we did not notice the road noise as we were to busy appreciating the great view. The room was clean and tidy and well stocked with cups plates etc, as we had family come over to visit. We would recommend if you are heading to Thames to go and stay there and meet Liz as she is bright cherry and very helpful lady who went the extra mile for us, thank you very much

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Dearest hostes, Tom and Liz True,
While we were stayng at your place we had a real good time. We aprecheatet your hospitality, kindness and you have been always very helpful. Thank you for all you sevices.Spezially we want to thank Liz for this good proposals you made us to have a good time at the Bay of Islands. We always will recomend you to other Swiss Travelers, visiting Thames.
Thanks again for everything and a Big Kiss to Liz.
Heinz Rohrer and friends from OLD SWITZERLAND

Room Tip: All the rooms have been really silent and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEINZ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

As we didn't get all the way to Coromandel, we tried the night in Thames. Drove past a few places but decided on Coastal. The rooms were very quaint, very comfortable and extremely clean. Well done - its so nice to stay in clean places like this one. The bed was amazing, crisp linen, soft blankets and plenty of good quality towels. Good friendly service, hospitable couple. First time I've rated a place 5/5 - not for the views or luxury - but everything was clean and good quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
19.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
152 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
2.6 mi away
Nightingale Falls Farmstay Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motor Lodge

Address: 608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range: £79 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Motor Lodge is a four star Qualmark rated Motel located at the gateway of the magnificent Coromandel Peninsula. Accommodation is set amongst beautiful lush grounds directly opposite the Hauraki Gulf and provides a range of quality accommodation including elevated sea view studio chalets, family room, access rooms and budget style cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Coastal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing