We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coastal Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible”
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This was the worst and most expensive place we stayed in during 4 week trip to New Zealand. Stayed 2 nights.The lodges look lovely from outside but inside is another story. Ours had a musty smell on walking in, inspite of the windows and door being left open. We had to leave them open all night in order to sleep. The lodge reminded me of a 1970's caravan. It is a long time since I slept in a bed with blankets rather than a duvet and somewhere with lino on the floor in places. I have mild asthma and would definitely not recommend for asthmatics. The bed was old and uncomfortable, my husband found it difficult to sleep in it. Wireless internet only worked very close to reception.
On check out I asked the receptionist how old the lodges were, she said more than 25 years old. they also have cottages she said were over 40 years old. The lodge we stayed in was badly in need of refurbishing.
TThere are much nicer places on the Coromandel than Thames, our favourite was Coromandel itself, although there are others.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2009
I am so sorry your stay was not what you expected. We hare at Coastal, work very hard to keep a high standard. I guess at the end of the day we cannot please everybody all of the time.
Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    50
    18
    0
    5
See reviews for
29
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I don't suffer from back problems, but after sleeping on an old, lumpy mattress at the Coastal Motor Lodge in Thames I had a severe backache. The motel was overpriced especially given that you can stay in luxury hotels in Whitianga for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onajrny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2009
This is the first and only time we have had a complaint about our beds,I am sorry your stay was not as you expected. I guess every-body has their different needs.
Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Coastal Motor Lodge, near Thames during the second week in January 2009 as part of our holiday. This motel is situated right at the water's edge, and has a Qualmark 4 star grading. It fully deserved it. We had an individual chalet, very Scandinavian in design, with an excellent small kitchen area, first rate bathroom with shower (no bath), and a most comfortable and very large bed.

We were most impressed with the spotless condition throughout the lodge, and the excellent quality of the furnishings.

A washer and tumble dryer was available, for 5$ (about £2 UK)again spotlessly clean, and the owners were friendly and efficient.

The coastline alongside the lodge is quite stunning, and we were so pleased that we had not stayed in Thames itself. This was in the most perfect position, with numerous wild fowl to watch, and quiet and peaceful gardens.

Just behind the lodge is a wild and wooded area and the morning chorus was a delight.

We were very sorry to leave, and should we return to Thames, will be pleased to stay here again.

We had breakfast delivered on our final day and found that it was well presented and reasonably priced. The owners are proud of the changes they have made, and have set out to make the place warm and welcoming.

  • Liked — First rate accommodation with beautiful views
  • Disliked — Rooms downstairs were available if unable to climb the lodge stairs
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cumpston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We were in Thames for a family wedding and reserved several chalets at the Coastal Motor Lodge. We used the barbeque for 2 family dinners (approx 20 ppl) and brought our patio/balcony furniture to the barbeque area so we could all dine together. Karen and Colin were wonderful hosts, even offering the use of their serving dishes and oven. They could not have been more accommodating.

The Coastal Motor Lodge is across the road from the water and within walking distance to Thames. The rooms have a kitchenette, so you are able to prepare your own food. It was a wonderful experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank luvNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California,USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

We arrived into Auckland from California at 5.45am. We had originally planned on staying near the airport for the night but at the last minute decided to bite the bullet and head out of the city. We arrived at the Coastal Motor Lodge at around 8.30am and as luck would have it our room was vacant. We dropped off our bags and went into town for some breakfast. Our room was spacious and very clean, although a little dated. We had a chalet close to the road that provided wonderful views of the water but I must admit was a little noisy first thing in the morning. The owner/reception was very helpful and gave us some useful tips for our trip. Free internet access was available at the office.

  • Liked — The chalet style and location
  • Disliked — Room was a little noisy
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoBrits93010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

We showed up late in Thames as we had driven the whole Coromandel peninsula in one day. We liked that it was on the water, so we went in to see if they had a vacancy. They had a little cozy room right next to the water view (across the street from the water). It was absolutely adorable and super clean. We had a little kitchenette, so we were able to cook dinner ourselves and relax with the view. I would highly recommend this lodge.

  • Liked — I liked that it was cozy
  • Disliked — We didn't stay another night
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kimz92684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

We found this hotel as we were driving to the Coramandel Peninsula. It is a lovely set of chalet type units that are self contained. It is just north of Thames and has views over the water. We only stayed one night as we were booked into Rotorua for the next 3 nights, but would certainly stay here again - for longer.
The Motel was changing owners when we were there, so there were a few small problems, but that didn't spoilt our holiday.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Petallitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
2.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
110 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
100 reviews
22.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
12.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
255 reviews
10.5 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motor Lodge

Property: Coastal Motor Lodge
Address: 608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Motor Lodge is a four star Qualmark rated Motel located at the gateway of the magnificent Coromandel Peninsula. Accommodation is set amongst beautiful lush grounds directly opposite the Hauraki Gulf and provides a range of quality accommodation including elevated sea view studio chalets, family room, access rooms and budget style cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coastal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing