We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot - friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coastal Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2009

I stayed one night here with business colleagues and customers during a trip to the Thames region. I was very pleased with the overall service. The motel is in a great location set in attractive grounds against a bush clad hill but looking out across the Thames estuary. The elevated chalets have a special feel, and were well presented. The staff were very friendly, and delivered a good breakfast on time. The chalets have large windows that are not curtained, so it is very light early in the morning in summer. The motel is fairly close to the road, but the traffic at night was minimal and did not disturb me. We were offered a corporate rate that was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Pleased you enjoyed yourwe work very hard to please our corporate clientelle and make them feel comfortable.
Regards karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

Neat and tidy place. Free wireless internet, clean but dated rooms (we stayed in the cheaper rooms). Very friendly hosts will make you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudolfSplatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2010

Yes you did stay in our Coastal Cottages which are not star rated and run in conjunction with the Motor lodge. Yes they are clean and we work very hard to keep them that way. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

I stayed here with my husband just for one night in August. Not knowing much about the area, we werent too keen to stay in Thames until we drove past the Coastal Motor Lodge and we were glad we found it! Karen was very friendly and made us feel welcome straight away and provided us with lots of local knowledge of sights to see and placed to visit. We stayed up stairs in one of the rooms closest to the Reception area, it was bright with beautiful views over the bay and also of the thick forest and tranquil gardens surrounding the property. It was spacey, neat and very comfy with a king sized bed and a nice sitting area to take in the view. The kitchen is small but had all that we needed. Also offering free wi fi was an added bonus to this fantastic lodge. I would stay here again in a heart beat! Loved it... thanks so much for your hospitality and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2009

It was an absolute pleasure to be able to meet you and to be able to help you during your holiday.
Kind regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Reluctant to spend our last night in new Zealand in the "big city", the Coastal Motor Lodge was the perfect option. Situated across the road from the stunning waters of the Firth of Thames, our room offered the perfect view. After a day in the car, a walk along the shoreline into the face of a brisk winter breeze was just what was needed. Our chalet was spacious and comfortable and Karen, our host, couldn't have been more helpful. Rocco's, the Spanish tapis restaurant in Thames recommended by Karen, offered a meal and wine that was worthy of any top-class international restaurant. The motel's location only an hour's drive from Coramandel Town made it possible to see some of NZ's most stunning scenery before making the 90 minute drive to Auckland airport. We'd love to visit the Coastal Motor Lodge again to explore this wonderful part of New Zealand more fully.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dplSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2009

Thankyou so much so pleased you enjoyed your stay and maybe we will see you again one day.
Regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This was the worst and most expensive place we stayed in during 4 week trip to New Zealand. Stayed 2 nights.The lodges look lovely from outside but inside is another story. Ours had a musty smell on walking in, inspite of the windows and door being left open. We had to leave them open all night in order to sleep. The lodge reminded me of a 1970's caravan. It is a long time since I slept in a bed with blankets rather than a duvet and somewhere with lino on the floor in places. I have mild asthma and would definitely not recommend for asthmatics. The bed was old and uncomfortable, my husband found it difficult to sleep in it. Wireless internet only worked very close to reception.
On check out I asked the receptionist how old the lodges were, she said more than 25 years old. they also have cottages she said were over 40 years old. The lodge we stayed in was badly in need of refurbishing.
TThere are much nicer places on the Coromandel than Thames, our favourite was Coromandel itself, although there are others.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

I am so sorry your stay was not what you expected. We hare at Coastal, work very hard to keep a high standard. I guess at the end of the day we cannot please everybody all of the time.
Regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I don't suffer from back problems, but after sleeping on an old, lumpy mattress at the Coastal Motor Lodge in Thames I had a severe backache. The motel was overpriced especially given that you can stay in luxury hotels in Whitianga for the same price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onajrny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

This is the first and only time we have had a complaint about our beds,I am sorry your stay was not as you expected. I guess every-body has their different needs.
Regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Coastal Motor Lodge, near Thames during the second week in January 2009 as part of our holiday. This motel is situated right at the water's edge, and has a Qualmark 4 star grading. It fully deserved it. We had an individual chalet, very Scandinavian in design, with an excellent small kitchen area, first rate bathroom with shower (no bath), and a most comfortable and very large bed.

We were most impressed with the spotless condition throughout the lodge, and the excellent quality of the furnishings.

A washer and tumble dryer was available, for 5$ (about £2 UK)again spotlessly clean, and the owners were friendly and efficient.

The coastline alongside the lodge is quite stunning, and we were so pleased that we had not stayed in Thames itself. This was in the most perfect position, with numerous wild fowl to watch, and quiet and peaceful gardens.

Just behind the lodge is a wild and wooded area and the morning chorus was a delight.

We were very sorry to leave, and should we return to Thames, will be pleased to stay here again.

We had breakfast delivered on our final day and found that it was well presented and reasonably priced. The owners are proud of the changes they have made, and have set out to make the place warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cumpston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
2.5 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
116 reviews
19.4 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
194 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
10.5 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
207 reviews
3 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motor Lodge

Address: 608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range: £84 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Motor Lodge is a four star Qualmark rated Motel located at the gateway of the magnificent Coromandel Peninsula. Accommodation is set amongst beautiful lush grounds directly opposite the Hauraki Gulf and provides a range of quality accommodation including elevated sea view studio chalets, family room, access rooms and budget style cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Coastal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing