We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coastal Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed here while we toured the Coromandel peninsula. Unit was immaculate and spotless. View gorgeous. A bit disappointed in Thames the town (nothing seemed to be open - restaurants, shops, eateries were all closed on the weekend and also Monday which was surprising.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    50
    18
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We walked in 'off the street' without prior booking on the 27th December 09, as we'd had to refuse the previously booked accommodation just up the road (unbelievably old, overcrowded and dirty, but let's not dwell on that). Karen was able to accommodate us for the three nights we needed, and we had a superb raised unit, with everything we could have wanted, at an excellent rate. The accommodation is extremely clean, well-designed and comfortable, the grounds are beautifully kept, and it's very handy for exploring the Coromandel Peninsula. The hot tub was immaculate and well-kept, and we were very impressed with the availability of breakfasts delivered to the unit, as well as the range of takeaway meal deliveries. We were happy to make use of the fully-equipped kitchen in the unit. Although the lodge was full, it remained quiet and very civilised, and we never felt crowded or overlooked at all. The view from the unit balcony over the front lawn to the sea was very pleasant, and although the main west coast road runs along in front, it was never obtrusive or noisy, especially at night!

We had a very pleasant time there, and would definitely go back should we have reason to return to the Coromandel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyree54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2010
It was a pleasure to be able to met your needs and look forward to greeting you again one day.
Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

I stayed one night here with business colleagues and customers during a trip to the Thames region. I was very pleased with the overall service. The motel is in a great location set in attractive grounds against a bush clad hill but looking out across the Thames estuary. The elevated chalets have a special feel, and were well presented. The staff were very friendly, and delivered a good breakfast on time. The chalets have large windows that are not curtained, so it is very light early in the morning in summer. The motel is fairly close to the road, but the traffic at night was minimal and did not disturb me. We were offered a corporate rate that was very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2010
Pleased you enjoyed yourwe work very hard to please our corporate clientelle and make them feel comfortable.
Regards karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Neat and tidy place. Free wireless internet, clean but dated rooms (we stayed in the cheaper rooms). Very friendly hosts will make you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudolfSplatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2010
Yes you did stay in our Coastal Cottages which are not star rated and run in conjunction with the Motor lodge. Yes they are clean and we work very hard to keep them that way. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

I stayed here with my husband just for one night in August. Not knowing much about the area, we werent too keen to stay in Thames until we drove past the Coastal Motor Lodge and we were glad we found it! Karen was very friendly and made us feel welcome straight away and provided us with lots of local knowledge of sights to see and placed to visit. We stayed up stairs in one of the rooms closest to the Reception area, it was bright with beautiful views over the bay and also of the thick forest and tranquil gardens surrounding the property. It was spacey, neat and very comfy with a king sized bed and a nice sitting area to take in the view. The kitchen is small but had all that we needed. Also offering free wi fi was an added bonus to this fantastic lodge. I would stay here again in a heart beat! Loved it... thanks so much for your hospitality and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2009
It was an absolute pleasure to be able to meet you and to be able to help you during your holiday.
Kind regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Reluctant to spend our last night in new Zealand in the "big city", the Coastal Motor Lodge was the perfect option. Situated across the road from the stunning waters of the Firth of Thames, our room offered the perfect view. After a day in the car, a walk along the shoreline into the face of a brisk winter breeze was just what was needed. Our chalet was spacious and comfortable and Karen, our host, couldn't have been more helpful. Rocco's, the Spanish tapis restaurant in Thames recommended by Karen, offered a meal and wine that was worthy of any top-class international restaurant. The motel's location only an hour's drive from Coramandel Town made it possible to see some of NZ's most stunning scenery before making the 90 minute drive to Auckland airport. We'd love to visit the Coastal Motor Lodge again to explore this wonderful part of New Zealand more fully.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dplSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2009
Thankyou so much so pleased you enjoyed your stay and maybe we will see you again one day.
Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This was the worst and most expensive place we stayed in during 4 week trip to New Zealand. Stayed 2 nights.The lodges look lovely from outside but inside is another story. Ours had a musty smell on walking in, inspite of the windows and door being left open. We had to leave them open all night in order to sleep. The lodge reminded me of a 1970's caravan. It is a long time since I slept in a bed with blankets rather than a duvet and somewhere with lino on the floor in places. I have mild asthma and would definitely not recommend for asthmatics. The bed was old and uncomfortable, my husband found it difficult to sleep in it. Wireless internet only worked very close to reception.
On check out I asked the receptionist how old the lodges were, she said more than 25 years old. they also have cottages she said were over 40 years old. The lodge we stayed in was badly in need of refurbishing.
TThere are much nicer places on the Coromandel than Thames, our favourite was Coromandel itself, although there are others.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2009
I am so sorry your stay was not what you expected. We hare at Coastal, work very hard to keep a high standard. I guess at the end of the day we cannot please everybody all of the time.
Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
2.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
22.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
12.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
10.5 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motor Lodge

Property: Coastal Motor Lodge
Address: 608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames SH 25, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Motor Lodge is a four star Qualmark rated Motel located at the gateway of the magnificent Coromandel Peninsula. Accommodation is set amongst beautiful lush grounds directly opposite the Hauraki Gulf and provides a range of quality accommodation including elevated sea view studio chalets, family room, access rooms and budget style cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coastal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing