We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh new way-side stop”
Review of Bugger Cafe

Bugger Cafe
Ranked #6 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Thames
Price range: US$4 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Our cafe is different from other cafes. Besides offering excellent food and coffee, it is our intent that you leave our cafe happier than when you came in. Our decor celebrates 'bugger moments' and encourages you to have a laugh at life. We believe life is too serious and if you laugh more everything is better. Our food is fresh, succulent, tasty and, wherever possible, local. So everything we sell will fit into these categories. We make everything on site. All are baristas are highly trained to deliver you the perfect brew.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh new way-side stop”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The new owners have done a great job revamping this cafe. It has lots of quirky and witty decorations playing on the "bugger!" theme. Good coffee, clean toilets, and friendly staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    12
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Bugger of a Good Time”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stopped in for a quick coffee on our drive through and found ourselves laughing and enjoying all of the interesting memorabilia around the cafe. We ended up grabbing two snacks out of their counter as they looked super delicious and they did not disappoint.

This was a nice surprise on our way North. If you find yourself nearby and in need of a good coffee drop in and take some time to walk around to look at all of their pictures.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beardedbaddorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I left Auckland thinking I would find some where for breakfast on my way to Coromandel but it was Sunday and there are not many cafés along the way so was happy to see this one! Even more pleased when I went inside and saw the extensive menu. I ordered the big breakfast and it was huge and delicious for 20 bucks. Toilets wee open and clean. A welcome stop in all respects.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michellecfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Toilets Closed....”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

You stop at a roadside cafe for three reasons, to have something to eat, to drink and to go to the loo!

If a place shuts it's toilets for 2 hours on a Saturday morning and doesn't offer alternatives, I would say that it's pretty poor decision making and there was no apology from the staff either, more a smile of amusement.

Therefore, despite looking forward to this stop, planned perfectly into our itinerary it turned out to be a grand waste of time and we rushed on to Thames, legs clenched to a much more appropriate stop point that had a working toilet. A real shame and concerning that a business can't get the fundamentals together.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda G, Owner at Bugger Cafe, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
This one was really out of our control - we had advice that the septic tank needed to be emptied once a year. So yes we were indeed 'caught short' after 4 months. We had the the tank pumped and all sorted within 2 hours. Sorry this inconvenienced you... s*** happened. Bugger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 'Must-Stop'!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We escape from Auckland out to the the Coromandel as often as we can and have driven past The Bugger Cafe numerous times, always intending to stop. So, we finally did and I don't hesitate in saying that it is now one of our top, top, top places to eat! The Big Bugger Brekkie (or something to that effect) is almost life-altering it is so good! And the coffee is to die for. The decor and smiling staff are refreshing and besides being a great place to stop, we now consider it a worthy destination. The 60-90 minute drive from Auckland is well worth it! Oh...and gentlemen, be sure to check out the poem in the men's toilet. Hilarious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bugger Cafe also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Bugger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing