We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The meals at the Imperial were absolutely delicious. Hubby ordered the mutton shanks and he could not fault them. The meat was falling off the bone as he tried to cut it. I had the seafood salad that had plenty of mussels, scallops, prawns and chunks of fish cooked in a sweet chilli sauce and served on a bed of salad. The seafood was cooked to perfection! Even though we were both full, we couldn't look past a piece of homemade apple pie shared between the two of us. Again, this was delicious. The pastry just melted in your mouth, and the filling had just the right amount of cinnamon. Well done to the chef. Prices were very reasonable and service was great.

Room Tip: Meals are the same price whether you eat in the bar area or dining room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank chez1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Imperial is one of the oldest buildings in Thames and one of the original old hotels from the days when Thames was a thriving gold mining town. The hotel has recently been re decorated and upgraded to a very high standard, complete with wheelchair accessibility. We arrived quite late in the evening as the restaurant was winding down and received a very warm welcome from the young couple who run the establishment. The food was excellent and just what we were looking forward to, I had one of the best Sirloin steaks I have ever eaten, my husband had fish was beautifully cooked. Situated on the main street with good parking facilities this hotel is well worth a visit providing excellent accommodation with good food and good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathyh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eval0tte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre sur l'arrière
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISABELLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellow86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir haben nur dort gegessen, hatten uns aber von der Sauberkeit und Freundlichkeit überzeugen lassen...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.7 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Thames Motel
Avalon Thames Motel
#34 of 52 in Coromandel Peninsula
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
261 reviews
12.2 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 476 Pollen Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: £41 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Imperial Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing