We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refurbished rooms and restaurant”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
REDDITCH
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Recently refurbished rooms and restaurant”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice hotel in pretty town.
Appeared to have been recently refurbished. I don't think the shower had been used before. Everywhere was clean and tidy. Breakfast was good as was evening meal. I was surprised that there were other guests as it was so quiet.
Arrived just before 9pm and made reservation there and then. Just stopped off passing through but it was such a nice town we spent a good proportion of the next day there.
Even let us have a drink after the bar was shut.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
774 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed three nights in Thames and stumbled upon Hotel Imperial our first evening. The welcome was excellent and the dining room comfortable and it was fun to see people in heritage outfits celebrating the history of Thames. Flounder and gurnard were recommended, so we both had the gurnard that night. This was so good that we returned on St Patrick's Day to try the flounder and the local beer. Again the reception was great and whilst we hadn't booked, a table was found. I would have no hesitation in eating here again and can recommend the fish as being fresh, local and very tasty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Para Hills
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The meals at the Imperial were absolutely delicious. Hubby ordered the mutton shanks and he could not fault them. The meat was falling off the bone as he tried to cut it. I had the seafood salad that had plenty of mussels, scallops, prawns and chunks of fish cooked in a sweet chilli sauce and served on a bed of salad. The seafood was cooked to perfection! Even though we were both full, we couldn't look past a piece of homemade apple pie shared between the two of us. Again, this was delicious. The pastry just melted in your mouth, and the filling had just the right amount of cinnamon. Well done to the chef. Prices were very reasonable and service was great.

Room Tip: Meals are the same price whether you eat in the bar area or dining room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chez1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Imperial is one of the oldest buildings in Thames and one of the original old hotels from the days when Thames was a thriving gold mining town. The hotel has recently been re decorated and upgraded to a very high standard, complete with wheelchair accessibility. We arrived quite late in the evening as the restaurant was winding down and received a very warm welcome from the young couple who run the establishment. The food was excellent and just what we were looking forward to, I had one of the best Sirloin steaks I have ever eaten, my husband had fish was beautifully cooked. Situated on the main street with good parking facilities this hotel is well worth a visit providing excellent accommodation with good food and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.7 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Thames Motel
Avalon Thames Motel
#38 of 52 in Coromandel Peninsula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
12.3 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shortland Court Motel
Shortland Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 476 Pollen Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Imperial Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing