We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Te Mata Lodge stay”
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Mata Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
“Te Mata Lodge stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A great place to relax. The ownes were really friendly and the chalet cosy. Te Mata Lodge is a great place to relax and forget the hustle and bustle of daily life. I highly recommend spending time there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thanks for a great Review David,
Was great getting the chance to meet you and chat with you a bit. Look forward to seeing you again, hopefully with less marking so you can relax a bit more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    54
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
81
78
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A nice little spot in a somewhat secluded location. We stayed in the main cottage. It had a full kitchen, a fire place and everything you needed. The place is old, but still clean and acceptable. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

The local pub was inviting and a good place for a few drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for the review David

Glad you enjoyed yourself, we love our little spot surrounded by nature. In regards to the age of the cottages, they are indeed our older accommodation, dating back to the early 60's. Our chalets are a lot newer being 2006 however they were booked out on your arrival. Our intention is to re-clad or paint the exterior and replace the interior for GIB board... but as we all know how time and money goes. If you do visit again I would advise trying our newer chalets and staying at least a couple nights to enjoy the rest of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in a chalet and it was clean and tidy and had everything you need. Very peaceful place. A beautiful setting, handily located with very friendly and helpful hosts. Lots of birdlife and nice to able to access the river.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RegularDiner586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Manager at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for the great review.
We are stoked that you enjoyed staying at Te Mata Lodge. We love the setting here and love it even more when our guests can enjoy the property too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Te Mata lodge is set in an incredibly beautiful part of the country. The chalet we stayed in was set up in the bush above the river so felt very secluded. It had all the basic necessities to self cater, was clean and comfy.Easy locaiton to do a day trip round the peninsula and there are lots of walks close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thanks for the great review Rachel,
Glad the two of you enjoyed your stay and even better that the weather was good enough for your to trip around
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Te Mata gives this awesome, relaxed vibe. The scenery around it is gorgeous, trees and the creek flowing through the property, and it's not pretentious at all - has an authentic kiwi feel. We stayed in one of the chalets which was cosy and well equipped. There are also cabins and cottages on the property. It's family-owned and run by lovely, friendly people. If you stay there, make sure you take the kayaks down the river as we had a blast paddling right down to the ocean!

Would be a cool place for a wedding or trip with a group - we're planning on taking the whole family back there for Christmas. Beautiful spot, we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thanks for the great review,
So glad the weather turned out great for you as it was not forcasted to be so good. Indeed the chalets are a little tight for a family of four but we were stoked to hear you all enjoyed yourselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just spent the last weekend away at Te Mata lodge and had a lovely time. My husband and I with our 2 kids. The kids loved the location with the river/ stream at the bottom of the garden and the hosts were very accomodating.
The Chalet we stayed in was very cute, probably more suited to two (it was orgnially going to be just my husband and i but babysitter couldnt have the kids that weekend) all the same very nice.
Very good beds and clean crisp linen.
Nice retreat! Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okeydokeynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thanks for the great review,
So glad the weather turned out great for you as it was not forcasted to be so good. Indeed the chalets are a little tight for a family of four but we were stoked to hear you all enjoyed yourselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Recently my partner and I stayed two nights at Te Mata Lodge in one of their chalets. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to our unit. Although not large, it contained everything you could wish for including books, a pack of cards,a heater that had pre warmed the room and a peaceful and private position. In fact, if you didnt know you were at a commercial accomodation, you would think you were the only ones there! The bed was very comfortable, and all the facilities worked as required. There were recycling bins for rubbish and eco friendly shampoo and soap in the bathroom. In the morning we walked down a bush track which was directly adjacent to the chalet and, surrounded by birdsong, we arrived at a clearing with a bbq and seating by a picturesque river. We were there in winter, however, in summer we would have swam in the generous swimming hole. I would thoroughly recommend Te Mata Lodge to anyone wanting a peaceful holiday away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 388Tropheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thanks for such a raving review. We really love our little corner of the world here and I must say if you loved it now you would love it even more in the heart of summer when the river is a whole lot more inviting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
20.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
12.9 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
14.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Property: Te Mata Lodge
Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing