We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coromandel as it should be!”
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Mata Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

There are fewer places like this these days. Such a contrast to the shiny apartments going in elsewhere. Tucked away in a sheltered valley, with the silence of a bush-fed stream and of birdsong, your hosts are warm and discreet, your cabin is comfortable, clean and well supplied with cooking gear. There's an abundance of local produce not far along the road, or even just over the road in the sea if you know where to get it! Magic.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank AlastairBorwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thanks for the review Alistair
It was great reading what you had to say about Te Mata Lodge and sharing it with the family here. Your so right that places like our own are at times more rear. The property is especially appreciated by anyone who enjoys being able to see and experience nature and still enjoy a nice warm bed to end with

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

During our 3 weeks stay in New Zealand this was the place we liked most. Although quite hard to find, this actually not to remote place offered us a relaxing setting in the middle of the bush and also a very good point to start exploring both coasts of the Coromandel from. A special thanks goes to the very friendly and helpful owner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thanks for such a great review, glad you enjoyed your stay as it is so very important to use that our guests enjoy Te Mata Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very close the river and watergardens,it has a great nature..I stayed in mountain house and it was very silence. all rooms were quite clean.. stuffs were so friendly .. but if you' d like to be close cathedral cove and hot water beach, this hotel a little bit far from there..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cankutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thanks for the review cankutu, we love our little spot on the Coromandel Peninsula. It is true though, we are on the opposite coast to cathedral cove and hot water beach, well based if you are wanting to explore all around the peninsula however if it is hot water beach and cathedral cove then we are an hours drive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A great place to relax. The ownes were really friendly and the chalet cosy. Te Mata Lodge is a great place to relax and forget the hustle and bustle of daily life. I highly recommend spending time there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks for a great Review David,
Was great getting the chance to meet you and chat with you a bit. Look forward to seeing you again, hopefully with less marking so you can relax a bit more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A nice little spot in a somewhat secluded location. We stayed in the main cottage. It had a full kitchen, a fire place and everything you needed. The place is old, but still clean and acceptable. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

The local pub was inviting and a good place for a few drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thanks for the review David

Glad you enjoyed yourself, we love our little spot surrounded by nature. In regards to the age of the cottages, they are indeed our older accommodation, dating back to the early 60's. Our chalets are a lot newer being 2006 however they were booked out on your arrival. Our intention is to re-clad or paint the exterior and replace the interior for GIB board... but as we all know how time and money goes. If you do visit again I would advise trying our newer chalets and staying at least a couple nights to enjoy the rest of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in a chalet and it was clean and tidy and had everything you need. Very peaceful place. A beautiful setting, handily located with very friendly and helpful hosts. Lots of birdlife and nice to able to access the river.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RegularDiner586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Manager at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thanks for the great review.
We are stoked that you enjoyed staying at Te Mata Lodge. We love the setting here and love it even more when our guests can enjoy the property too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Te Mata lodge is set in an incredibly beautiful part of the country. The chalet we stayed in was set up in the bush above the river so felt very secluded. It had all the basic necessities to self cater, was clean and comfy.Easy locaiton to do a day trip round the peninsula and there are lots of walks close by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thanks for the great review Rachel,
Glad the two of you enjoyed your stay and even better that the weather was good enough for your to trip around

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
14.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
20.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
19.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
14.2 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range: £46 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing