We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Te Mata Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent 3 peaceful nights in a bijou cabin in stunning surroundings. Comfy bed, well equipped kitchen, sparkling bathroom, and friendly owners and their curious hens. It was fine for 2, it might be a bit of a squeeze for a family. The location is secluded yet the main road is not far. If we did not live quite so far away, this lodge would be one of our go-to places for short breaks. Just lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Manager at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thanks for a stunning review Ina
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, that is the most important thing for us. We would agree completely with you in regards to the size of our Chalets, ideally suited for couples. Most families who stay come with the expectation of the size and so seem to really enjoy themselves, I think the trick for families is to see the chalets as a place to sleep and the rest of the property as your place to play and enjoy. That being said we have a two bedroom cottage which can sleep six for families looking for more space and a bigger kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We loved our two nights at Te Mata Lodge. We stayed in a lovely cabin with a gorgeous view of the native New Zealand bush. Only two,but our cabin had an upstairs & would have suited a family. The cabin was pristine & everything seemed new & well cared for & spotless. In a very secluded spot, but not far off the main road, with a lovely stream & play area for children. My husband swam in the swimming hole & we enjoyed the gang of chickens! Our hosts Murray & Dorothy were very welcoming & we liked the ecological green aspect of Te Mata Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreJournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thanks for a great review. It really made me smile hearing about the gang of chickens, they are quite friendly and curious creatures, are they not. Glad to hear your enjoyed the property and even have a chance for a swim, personally I am going almost everyday that I am around. The Chalet you stayed in is our latest addition of accommodation and as you found is perfect for couples and great for small families that don't mind a very cozy close feel :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Temata is a lovely peaceful place to stay. The cottage we stayed in was really lovely and felt very homely, it had all that anyone would require to stay in. Their sense of nature, with recycling etc is great. Will return for another stay with friends.

Thank you for a peaceful night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Hi Christine, Thank you for your lovely review, we agree with you, we definitely have a beautiful spot here and we are glad you got to experience it for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We only had two brief nights at Te Mata Lodge but the experience was well worth it. The grounds are beautiful and the location peaceful and tranquil. The hosts were lovely and welcoming. Had we had more time at Te Mata, we would have taken up the offer of the free kayaking and private tour of the glow worm grotto.

Room Tip: Note there was no swimming pool (but there was a river) and no restaurant that we were made aware of
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thanks for the Review Melanie. Glad to hear you enjoyed the grounds and even considered the kayaking. If you do come again hopefully you can get the perfect day to experience the river. I noted you ranked us a three for room and cleanliness, it would be great if you could flick us an email about what aspects you were not so happy with as we would love to be aware of these to make future guests stay more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

About 25 mins drive up north from Thames. Into the Te Mata valley, down a 4WD track, you are totally away from civilisation. Run by a nice family. No real neighbours. Peacefull location. Nice lodge with space for living, dining. not much food options around, so get stocked and they have cooking facility and bbq on sit. River flows next to property. They have kayaks to use. No cell coverage and wifi signal limited. So if you want to relax and not get disturbed, get lost to this place. Good walking trails around in the bush.

Room Tip: Anywhere is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks for the review Aspi. It was great seeing your family enjoying the property. You are right wifi is limited to 100mb free a day. And as you found we are more than happy to help out if you need more. At some stage we would love to concrete the driveway but being 500m of gravel it will be sometime before it fits into the budget, that being said we don't own any 4wd vehicles and the tricks is to accelerate slowly to limit the wheels skidding a bit on the gravel. And I totally agree Te Mata Lodge is a place where you can get lost and escape from the hustle and bustle and enjoy the surrounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a great place to escape to! We loved our city getaway for two nights - It is peaceful, secluded and relaxing. The cabins are basic, yet homely and well equipped. The hosts are fantastic and very knowledgable of the area and can recommend great things to do. Would definitely return here - next time in summer so we can take full advantage of all that's on offer! Thank you for a wonderful stay :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joc186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Was great to hear you enjoyed yourselves, even if it wasn't the heart of summer yet. And you are right it gets so much better when the days get longer and hotter. With the river getting up to 26 degrees on good days it is something not to be missed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was the ultimate relaxing family holiday. The hosts were lovely and helpful when required but very discrete. The swimming hole is fantastic and was safe for our beginner kayaking skills. Our children had fun gold paning in the river. The cabin was comfortable and fully equipped. Even the knives were sharp! We loved the feeling of being completely removed from society, but only really just down the road from town. There is loads to do, and the setting is completely relaxing. We came back feeling refreshed and invigorated and will definitely visit again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom cabin. Good size for a small family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks for such a fantastic review, and that is a great pointer, we will try remember to check how sharp the knives are every now and then. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, the place really comes to life for us when we see family really enjoying themselves. The experience you had is the sort that keeps us excited about what we do at Te Mata Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
20.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
14.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
19.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
190 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing