We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Te Mata Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Rolleston Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookby Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon Thames Motel(Coromandel Peninsula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blake Court Motel(Whangamata)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
146
57
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
57
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverswimming holebedroom cottagefree kayaksthe cottagesenjoy naturebush settingcoromandel peninsulanative bushbathroom facilitiespeaceful place to staytwo nightsnew zealandmagical placelovely locationfriendly and helpful ownerspeaceful surroundings
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We absolutely loved our stay. We felt so at home and were greeted right from our car and looked after throughout our stay. We felt much more like we were visiting family and never like we were just customers. The Lodge is so lovely and peacefull, a wonderful place just to get away and have some much deserved time out. So affordable and with lots of extra facilities that were kindly offered free of charge. We certainly will be back and bringing others along with us.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeskaChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thanks for a great review. We all felt real special to hear you felt as though you were treated like family. It was great to see you to really stoked with the property and enjoying everything we have to offer. Would be great to see you back with more friends as we are always happy to see new people discovering what is hidden down our little valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Te Mata Lodge is a secluded and pristine little piece of paradise on the Coromandel. We had 3 nights in the two bedroom cottage, and one in the one-bedroom next door. The hosts are wonderful, the location gorgeous, the cottages cosy, spotless, well-equipped and comfortable, and the river swimming hole is a pure delight. The surrounding area for hiking and exploring is great...and the property is well-located to serve as a base to explore the Peninsula. Te Mata Lodge is the whole package, folks, well-deserving of its high rating.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank diikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Hi team, thanks for such a great review. It was great having you come and stay at our little slice of paradise and even better that you loved it enough to stay on for longer. It was a pleasure to have you two stay with us at the Lodge and great to see you enjoy the property and the Coromandel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

stayed for the 5 days and enjoyed every bit, will dee is here as perfect for familys, wonderful and frendly host, very approachable and helpful with things around the area that may attract you. the river was awesome to swim in and having the use of the kayaks and bbqs made for a great family day beside the river

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horsehead12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it and it is great to hear you enjoyed yourselves. Love the river, such a great spot to swim. Great seeing people getting in and enjoying it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We received a very warm and genuine welcome at Te Mata Lodge. The cabin was clean and comfortable. The setting is spectacular - in the bush by the river. You really feel you are away from the world. Our kids (7 and 10) loved all of the facilities, in particular the trampoline and large lawn for running around. The location was about 20 minutes drive from Thames. Quite a few places around to eat. Lovely to be able to drive (or walk 15 minutes) down the road to the beach. It was really an ideal place for us to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi Becky,
Thanks for the helpful review. It was great to meet you all and enjoyable to see you all having a great time. We were also impressed by your hubby heading out cycling for decent times on holiday. For those reading this I would add depending on how far guests want to travel there is lots of food places within 20-30 minutes drive. If guests prefer not to travel so far there is fish'n'chips five minutes away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Lovely tranquil setting surrounded by native bush, with the sound of the river nearby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were made to feel very welcome. The accommodation was well set up, comfortable and clean.
The location was handy to Coromandel and Thames townships which we did a couple of day trips to.
It was our first visit but won't be our last.
Recommend A+++

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi Liz
It was great having you and the family come stay, you guys were a pleasure to have around and we are happy you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for the review Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews