We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing gem on the river.”
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Te Mata Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a great place! Was not expecting the lovely setting and darling cottage. The place is immaculate, the owners welcoming, and the pet chickens too cute. It also appears that they cater to families with lots of areas for kids to play and adults to relax. Would totally reccomend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for such a great little review frogdog.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you even enjoyed our over friendly chickens (for those reading this there is a gate for the chalets to keep them off the decks). It is so important to us that the property can be enjoyed by family's and we find great satisfaction in seeing family's together, enjoying all that Te Mata Lodge has to offer in the stunning outdoor setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed in one of the cottages, which was an older building but comfortable with lovely views across the bush. We enjoyed having chickens and flocks of quail walking past outside. We had great fun 'living off the land' with fresh herbs to be found beside paths around the property and muscles, pippi, and cockles that we collected from the beach. There is also fishing, and blackberry picking which we will do next time.

The property is large, beautifully kept, full of character and there is a lot to do. We whittled away the days lying in hammocks beside the stream, doing bush walks, exploring the beach, walking up the stream collecting colorful stones and exploring the gold mining history of the area.

The owners are helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. A very special spot, we would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet retreat, family holiday, or a little bit of adventure.

Room Tip: The cottages are charming and spacious but are older buildings and not built to catch the sun. In Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffLydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi JeffLydia
It was a real pleasure having you guys stay at Te Mata Lodge. Sorry this response is so late to your review. We love hearing of our guests enjoying not just the accommodation but also making full use of the entire property and surrounding features. It sounds like you did great at that. Also that is a great tip in regards to the various units and due to the lack of sun for the cottages we do indeed ensure dehumidifier and heaters are in regular use. The one benefit worth noting for the two bedroom cottage during winter is although it lacks a view it does contain a fire place which keeps the unit nice and cozy.
We look forward to hosting you both again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay for our final 2 nights after 3 weeks driving around the North and South Islands of NZ! We stayed in a chalet which was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. The youngsters slept upstairs and us downstairs, I could cook dinner for our last night in the country and the absolute peace and quiet was perfect. Even though is was Easter and the whole Peninsula seemed crowded with visitors, we felt cocooned in the peaceful valley with only rushing water from the stream to lull us to sleep! We were delighted to be able to fossick in the stream (although it was too cold to swim), and we had a wonderful time playing on the nearby beach. My kids were also thrilled to jump on the trampoline, a simple joy that they had been deprived of for the duration of our holiday! The hosts are very friendly and helpful, just what you want after a long and tiring drive! Thanks for the memories, we'll be back sometime!

Room Tip: The steps up to the loft bedroom in the chalet are steep so maybe not suitable for toddlers, but kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalamanderBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for such a great review and for choosing to stay at Te Mata Lodge. And sorry for such a late response. It was a joy to read your review and to hear how much you and your family enjoyed Te Mata Lodge. And it was great to hear that you could enjoy the river to a certain amount even with the colder weather that was around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If you want to stay in a tranquil setting in the New Zealand bush, this is the place. We stayed in one of the chalets--my husband and I and our adult son in the loft. The rooms aren't large, but are well-appointed, spotlessly clean, and comfortable, and the table on the covered porch overlooking the bush and the river was a decided plus. We happened to be there during a truly monstrous storm, so spent more time in the room than we would have otherwise! A good getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalindii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for such a great review and for choosing to stay at Te Mata Lodge. And sorry for such a late response. It was great to meet you all and we were glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves even with such a storm coming through in the cozy chalet. The height that the river rose to was amazing wasn't it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We didn't quite expect the long drive down a gravel road to get to the lodge. It was a good thing we arrived before dark. Our stay was pleasant - Murray and Dorothy were most helpful and the lodge was tranquil and peaceful.

Room Tip: We changed to an ensuite room instead of the one originally booked which has toilets outside. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Manager at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thanks for the review YFrancis.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and am sorry about the surprise of the 500m gravel driveway. Also we apologize again for the misunderstanding in regards to the listing on booking.com, we felt a family room with shared bathroom described that the cabins were not self contained but reflecting on this we can now see that it could be also be understood as a shared bathroom for the family. We will look into how better to describe this in booking.com's system for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a great spot if you are looking for somewhere peaceful in rural Coromandel. Lots of different accommodation types on offer in a secluded riverside setting complete with swimming holes and kayaking. Plenty to see and do locally in terms of visiting Coromandel and Thames towns, tramping and swimming. Hosts were lovely and very welcoming. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Manager at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review Caroline. We are glad to hear you and the family enjoyed yourselves and it sounds like you did well to get the most out of this beautiful spot. Thanks for staying at Te Mata Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in the chalet for 3 nights and found it very comfortable and it had everything that you needed (home away from home).The quite and the peacefulness in the mornings having breakfast
Out on the belconey looking out over the bush and valley was truly magical.Bush walks is a must as the walks brings you back to reality in what you are missing in life ,the fresh air ,great scenery, cold water from the streams,and the tracks are great!!.Would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away from it all,

Room Tip: The chalets on the hill side where we stayed have good views and is quite and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Manager at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

What an awesome review Jenny. That does so well to describe the beauty of Te Mata Lodge and The Coromandel. It is an opportunity to escape and refresh in the midst of nature. It is great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed yourself. That is what we hope for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
20.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
12.9 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
19.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
190 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range: £48 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing