We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth of the pay”
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Mata Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

having a night's stay with a family room of generous space and complete household stuff for a reasonable room rate. couldnt wait to write the review due to the rarely free WiFi, Nice and helpful couple owner, even offered a milk upon arrival. would be great if clearer signs be used along the driveway, and if hand wash basin uses a temperature adjustable water tap (rather than two detached ones). anyway, a good place for recommendation.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thanks for the review. It was great to meet you and see you enjoy the property. The two bedroom cottage is great for groups like yourself where separate bedrooms are required. We are gradually working through upgrading and updating that unit. There is photos on our facebook page that show the redecorating that took place in the far room. Next will be the bathrooms when funds allow where we can upgrade the shower and include a mixer tap. Enjoy the rest of your travels with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Host were taking care Of us, very helpful and Nice. They drove us to thé last burger take away restaurant open as se arrived lately.
But thé place is a little bit difficult to find. We got some good explanation on thé hikes around.
On top our room was kept warm before our arrival

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claude c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. And it was great getting to take you down to the local store to order your dinner, enjoyed getting to meet you. A helpful hint for other travelers would be to try arrive before dark. Our long 500 meter gravel driveway feels far more pleasant when you can see the lush green bush with the units nestled in them and lush green meadows upon your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A very friendly and relaxed place, very helpful owners. Nice extra touches. Good options for recycling and composting. A very reasonable price. Plenty of heaters to keep the cold out. A lovely place to get away to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really do appreciate it. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and also want to say thank you again for replacing that broken drinking glass. It is no biggie in terms of expense but to me it shows integrity in the way you looked after the unit during your stay. Great to hear you liked our rotating compost bins. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We loved staying here. The weather may have been FREEZING cold but the cabin had a great heater and an extremely comfortable bed. The cabin we had would have slept up to 6 people and was very reasonably priced. The owners are lovely and will do anything to help upon request. The kitchen is functional and the bathrooms are kept very clean. It has a stunning location and is so quiet, we felt seriously peaceful here. They also have a trampoline for use, gold panning available and offer shovels for customers wanting to dig a hot water hole at hot water beach! Nothing bad to say about the owners or the rooms at all.

Room Tip: The cabins are perfect for couples OR big groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaLevin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Te Mata Lodge, cold and all. You did well with timing, this month has seen a few frosts in the morning. It is chilly, but the frosts are happening in Auckland and everywhere else so we are not alone. Awesome to hear you made the most of your winter escape, we have been so impressed by guests coming in, enjoying themselves and making the most of the low season prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was exactly the right place for me to have some quiet time and rest, explore the local coastal beaches and the river on the property without rush, watch a video or two and also take a couple of hours to work on an assignment that was due.
Although it was winter and wet and windy the first night the lovely private chalet I had was warm and cosy and I felt very supported by my environment. Fabulously comfortable bed warmed by an electric blanket too. Owners very welcoming and obviously care about what they do. Thank you. Glorious day the next day proving the loveliness of the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33Jeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for a stellar review. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and took the chance to take a bit of a winter retreat. Well done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First impressions last, and our first impression of Te Mata Lodge was memorable indeed. A warm, friendly welcome on arrival, lots of info on local attractions, plus they pre-heated our little cabin. Everything was clean and well presented. We all felt very comfortable and at ease. Didn't cringe at anything. The surroundings are beautiful as well. My husband even received a little birthday present, thank you so much. What a lovely surprise. All in all, inspite of rainy, cold weather, the service was warm and inviting. We would love to go back again. My high of the weekend was going for a walk up the steep drive, looking out over the valley a little fantail came up to me, fluttering about, chirping away, almost came and sat on me....it was so special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Celestè H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so very much for such an encouraging review. We love hearing feedback like this and what a cool story about the fantail. That opportunity to see and get a little closer to nature is something we often miss out on in this life when we are racing around everywhere. A great reminder for others to stop and enjoy the world around us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

3 nights stay at te mata lodge was the perfect place to stay while we explored the coromandel. Our hosts were lovely people and very happy to help with any requirements especially the use of a shovel for hot water beach. The cottages are comfortable and and well equiped.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mica18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi mica18
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Te Mata Lodge. Thanks so much for posting a review about your stay. We look forward to potentially seeing you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
14.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
20.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
19.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
14.2 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range: £46 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing