We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A happy first experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Di Luca's

Di Luca's
Ranked #37 of 52 Restaurants in Thames
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A warm ambient authentic italian style restaurant, perfect for dining with a group or just the two of you. We have a table outside during the warmer months for takeaway diners, and a nice takeaway waiting area. Located in the middle of town, there is plenty of parking. We are licenced and allow BYO as well. Buon appetito!!
Thames
1 review
“A happy first experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Been once a few weeks back. The decor is pleasant for an evening meal. I would not say it was a true Italian experience and agree that the staff are under trained. But Thames is a small town and they are supporting teens by giving them work and experience. And there is actually nothing wrong with the service provided as the waiters and owners are polite and pleasant. Pizza’s are nice and I enjoyed the pasta, the wine selection is good and I recommend the Sangiovese. I live here and as far as eateries in Thames goes, I think this would be one of the only 2 places I would bother going to. And to wrap up, I have eaten at numerous places around Italy and am happy to eat italian style food here. In fact off there again tonight.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AustinThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    10
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I'm a local person and I enjoy the Italian Pizza combination's and sauce. Not the same old mix such a nice change. Have had a few Pasta dishes and they are SO nice and full of flavor. Great atmosphere with friendly face's every time. Also think the price's are reasonable and fair.
I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hikutaia, New Zealand
1 review
“Nice Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We enjoyed a uniquely named gangster pizza and alovely pasta dish. The service was attentive and the restaurant was very busy on the night we visited. We've recommended this place to family and friends for a nice dining experience. Well done.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
223 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Never tasted anything so horrible and expensive!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I ate here with my parents on a night where there was no one else in the restaurant. We used to come to Di Luca's all the time before they got under new management. We were highly dissapointed firstly at the atmosphere. The paint was terrible and it was all dark and just not good. The service was slow and slack and when the food eventually came, they forgot to give us cuttlery!!

The food was still half cold and we could taste it had been microwaved, not fresh at all. My father's pizza was so tiny and it looked like something frozen from the Pak 'N' Save!!
Highly dissapointed and we promised each other that we would never return here!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZooGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Slow service and a disappointing meal.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We were only in Thames for one night and are unlikely to be back there but I would certainly not return to this restaurant if we were back that way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Di Luca's also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Di Luca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing