We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet night out”
Review of Di Luca's

Di Luca's
Ranked #38 of 52 Restaurants in Thames
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A warm ambient authentic italian style restaurant, perfect for dining with a group or just the two of you. We have a table outside during the warmer months for takeaway diners, and a nice takeaway waiting area. Located in the middle of town, there is plenty of parking. We are licenced and allow BYO as well. Buon appetito!!
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet night out”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We enjoyed a delicious meal at Di Lucas on what seemed a busy night for Thames and the four of us were very surprised that after 7.30pm we were the only diners!.
The food was great, tasty and plenty of it, the wine list needs some additional choices and all four of us agreed the restaurant is missing some of the Italian ambience needed. The owner was friendly and we received a very nice warm welcome. We would be very happy to return again to this pleasant restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dooleysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stewkley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good pasta and friendly owner”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We ate here twice during our 5 day stay in Thames. Andy was extremely welcoming and friendly and the pasta was delicious. Good value food in pleasant surroundings.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TandP671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love Di Lucas”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was a favourite restaurant while living in Thames, and we enjoyed dining in their again just recently.

Great friendly atmosphere, were greeted like old friends and services was great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza's”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great pizza's at a great price and that all comes with friendly and helpful service.

Keep up with the paintings, they are very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaiyanandHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames
1 review
“A happy first experience!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Been once a few weeks back. The decor is pleasant for an evening meal. I would not say it was a true Italian experience and agree that the staff are under trained. But Thames is a small town and they are supporting teens by giving them work and experience. And there is actually nothing wrong with the service provided as the waiters and owners are polite and pleasant. Pizza’s are nice and I enjoyed the pasta, the wine selection is good and I recommend the Sangiovese. I live here and as far as eateries in Thames goes, I think this would be one of the only 2 places I would bother going to. And to wrap up, I have eaten at numerous places around Italy and am happy to eat italian style food here. In fact off there again tonight.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustinThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Di Luca's also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Di Luca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing