We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful motel in Wanganui”
Review of Aotea Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aotea Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were on a road trip around New Zealand and had to stop in Wanganui to spend the night. We ended up in Aotea Motor Lodge by chance but now I will for sure choose this lodge again. Enormous rooms with jacuzzi, satellite TV, equiped kitchenette, big bed, all new. The attention was perfect and the location quite good too. It´s a really good deal!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for the kind review.
Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is definitely the best accommodation in town! Even the locals think so! Beautiful modern rooms with spa baths and kitchenette and very comfortable beds! There was five of us and there was plenty of space. We just wish we had longer to enjoy the room. The staff were very friendly also!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwigirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Loved the room we were given, great big massive spa bath was magic,night robes, comfy big bed & huge tv, very clean rooms & warm, handy location & thanks to Will for his friendly reception on arrival.. Highly recommend Aotea & will definitely be back again..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank and Tina ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Much Appreciated
Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed one night and found the room very comfortable. I did find it a bit unusual having the spa bath in the room and not in the bathroom but that didn't stop me using it! the room itself was very clean and the bed comfy. The free wifi in the room was very efficient and the television a good size. If I was to be a bit picky on what is a marketed as a higher end establishment ......I thought the toiletries were not of a great standard and some of the furnishings were a bit chipped. I was a it concerned when we arrived that we would hear road noise from our room, but in fact it was really quiet. A real plus. Would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelynrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Much Appreciated
Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Aotea Motor Lodge. We found our room very clean and tidy. The bed was one of the best I've slept in for a lodge/hotel, I would have liked a bigger duvet, but I was not cold. There was plenty of towels, lovely robes and linen on the beds. Good black out curtains. We enjoyed a lovely meal a short walk up the road at a busy Irish bar. Road noise did not affect us, but some partying guests outside our room kept us awake. The lodge apologised for them the next morning and gave us a discount.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riley202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I really appreciate it.
Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Aotea Motor Lodge was a great place to stay, very clean and comfortable and an awesome spa bath. Across the road from Pak N Save and really handy to the city. Lovely friendly staff. We would highly recommend staying here and would definitely stay again should the occasion arise.

Room Tip: We went to the Brick House Restaurant for dinner and brought it back to our room. Great place to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaylett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for this kind review.
Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stormy weather but friendly book in procedure and our unit quickly warmed up with heat pump on. Very modern and well appointed with the best beds we have experienced in our travels anywhere which is saying something! So handy to restaurants and supermarkets, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaina T, Manager at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to review our Lodge.
Thank you.
Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#6 of 26 in Whanganui
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 26 in Whanganui
137 reviews
0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motor Lodge

Address: 390 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £64 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aotea Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star central city Wanganui accommodation including free wifi, spa baths, LCD Sky Tv and corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aotea Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing