We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a pleasant stay. Highlights being
- Great location, able to walk to the city in a few minutes.
- Very friendly and efficient service
- Loved having free Laundry access.
-Spacious rooms, comfortable beds
-GREAT bath!!!

Had a little trouble with the wifi, but other than that, a great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank BenMcCarthy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a typical New Zealand urban motel, with the rooms looking inwards to a central car parking area and therefore largely protected from the noise of traffic. It's within walking distance of the centre of this characterful town, but the area is not particularly pleasant, consisting mainly of car dealerships. Our room was spacious and clean and it was fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013. The rooms was quite spacious and clean. The room has all the facilities necessary to provide a satisfactory stay. It was reasonably priced and the manager and his wife were both friendly and helpful. There is also plenty of parking

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

An excellent motor inn with lovely big rooms. The service is outstanding. Very close to town and restaurants. The breakfasts are particuallry good value. They also have a great range of DVDs that you can borrow

Room Tip: I prefer rooms 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveMcDowell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This place is modern and and very clean. Friendly, knowledgeable staff, nice decor, everything provided for in our 1 bedroom 'room'. Fan in the bathroom, spa bath separate to shower, they even provided a shower cap and toiletries and even a couple of Easter eggs for us on arrival. Beds were comfortable (extremely soft!) we all had a good nights sleep. No road noise. Our only gripe was that the walls are quite thin and this caused a problem for my daughter who wanted to go to sleep before the neighbouring rooms did. Thankfully they all piped down by 9.45pm, but you could actually hear most of the neighbours conversations if you were quiet yourselves. I'd be happy to stay here again if we were without kids or when our child is older and can handle staying up until the noise stops. Overall, we would recommend this place to others, it was really lovely and worth the money.

Room Tip: If it's not busy, ask to be placed away from other guests (if you need children to go to sleep e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamooseNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Really like this motel, very quiet unit, really clean and tidy, nice furnishing and not too big or too small just right for 3 adults. The owners were very helpful and super friendly. The small touches in this motel made it nice, like the small caraf of chilled water in the fridge for drinking! very good idea, and the heated towel rail in the bathroom, spa bath etc. The fairtrade instant coffee was great to see included! Overall I would recommend this motel to any one. Would recommend to stay here if you have are travelling round the area by car.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the non road side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Our softball team stayed in this motel during the recent Masters Games. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed and very reasonably priced. Owners are marvellous and very helpful. Also this motel is within walking distance to main shopping and supermarkets in the city, yet located in a quiet place. We enjoyed out stay and would definitely recommend staying in this motel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliMike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge

Address: 170 Guyton Street | Cnr of Guyton and Parnell St, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £65 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing