We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very clean”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The owners are friendly, very helpful and efficient. Moira & Ian could not do enough for us to make our stay any happier.
They are both hard workers and the motel was very clean both inside and out.
Thankyou guys

Room Tip: good stay quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
21
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Various
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had a short and pleasant stay at this motel which was recommended to me by friends who had stayed there a few times. It is handy to the city so it was easy to find somewhere for an evening meal. The owners are friendly, very helpful and efficient. My room was quite spacious, the bed comfortable and everything was clean. I even managed to find a AFL game on the TV - bonus! The breakfast was one of the best motel brekkies I've had - usual bacon, eggs, hash browns and toast but it was tasty, well cooked and hot! Thoroughly enjoyable! And very reasonably priced too. I'd certainly come back here next time I'm passing through Wanganui.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrificTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a pleasant stay. Highlights being
- Great location, able to walk to the city in a few minutes.
- Very friendly and efficient service
- Loved having free Laundry access.
-Spacious rooms, comfortable beds
-GREAT bath!!!

Had a little trouble with the wifi, but other than that, a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RobbieTeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a typical New Zealand urban motel, with the rooms looking inwards to a central car parking area and therefore largely protected from the noise of traffic. It's within walking distance of the centre of this characterful town, but the area is not particularly pleasant, consisting mainly of car dealerships. Our room was spacious and clean and it was fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013. The rooms was quite spacious and clean. The room has all the facilities necessary to provide a satisfactory stay. It was reasonably priced and the manager and his wife were both friendly and helpful. There is also plenty of parking

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

An excellent motor inn with lovely big rooms. The service is outstanding. Very close to town and restaurants. The breakfasts are particuallry good value. They also have a great range of DVDs that you can borrow

Room Tip: I prefer rooms 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMcDowell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This place is modern and and very clean. Friendly, knowledgeable staff, nice decor, everything provided for in our 1 bedroom 'room'. Fan in the bathroom, spa bath separate to shower, they even provided a shower cap and toiletries and even a couple of Easter eggs for us on arrival. Beds were comfortable (extremely soft!) we all had a good nights sleep. No road noise. Our only gripe was that the walls are quite thin and this caused a problem for my daughter who wanted to go to sleep before the neighbouring rooms did. Thankfully they all piped down by 9.45pm, but you could actually hear most of the neighbours conversations if you were quiet yourselves. I'd be happy to stay here again if we were without kids or when our child is older and can handle staying up until the noise stops. Overall, we would recommend this place to others, it was really lovely and worth the money.

Room Tip: If it's not busy, ask to be placed away from other guests (if you need children to go to sleep e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamooseNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.5 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge

Property: Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Address: 170 Guyton Street | Cnr of Guyton and Parnell St, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing