We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel.”
Review of Riverside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Motel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife & I were on Holiday and The AA Booked it for us and we really were made very welcome right from The minute we arrived here. The Owners & Staff were very Helpful Friendly. We would most Likely stay here again if ever in Wanganui. We spent 2 nights here.We loved our time in Wanganui. Went up on The Paddle Steammer & had a gt day.
A very nice city too.

Room Tip: Very Clean Spotless Tidy Units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferrit47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I made a fleeting visit to Wanganui and wanted somewhere clean and reasonably priced for our overnight stay. We were pleased with the Riverside Motel.Our unit had a separate bedroom, as well as a queen bed in the lounge. The kitchen was pretty well set up although we didn't cook. A coffee plunger with coffee was available. The decor is 70s/80s but hey the rooms are spacious and SPOTLESS. Parking was easy, right outside the door, Lots of local information available and very friendly hosts. No noise at night, even though it's off the main drive along the river. Easy to find if you are new to town and close to the main shopping street. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank isabellamunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with well appointed kitchens, so we could eat in. No traffic noise despite location on a busy street. Yes it has dated decor and fixtures - but all as clean a as whistle and all worked as they should - so no complaints there! Great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripleJFLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This was a simple, straightforward no fuss Motel to stay in, situated on Somme Parade right by the Wanganui River and looking over towards the Durie Hill and Bastia Hill Towers. It was also an easy walk into the city centre and its associated attractions. I was travelling with my elderly mother and was delighted to find it was built entirely on the flat which made for easy access from the generous car parking area directly outside the rooms. Our accommodation was clean, fit for purpose. The management and cleaning staff were helpful and happy to work arround our requirements. No quibbles or complaints, except maybe for the television which could have done with being upgraded and a better selection of channels. However, would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erasmus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

we just wanted somewhere comfortable and not flash to sleep for 3 nights while visiting family.
the location was perfect with great river views and a pleasant walk into the town centre and attractions.
also very close to the wonderful river traders market held every saturday morning.
my brother remembers the motel being built in the early 80's and apart from a new shower and handbasin, i'd say it hasn't been updated since!
however comfortable bed and solid as a rock building with no noise from other guests or busy road.
if i had carte blanche to modernise, i'd get rid of the kitchen with full oven, (who wants to cook on holiday)? and go for larger fridge, better quality dinner ware, wine glasses (too small) and new sofa and LCD tv.
otherwise recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TehengaMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Only stayed one night could have easily done more. We had the 2 bedroom units. Just what we needed with 2 kids, still gave us time out by our selves. Lots of space in bathroom. Little things like soft soap a great idea. Forgot my bedside clock, was all packed up with name and unit on it and able to pick up on the way home. GREAT service. Off road parking.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank macshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

We where looking for a one night motel and looked around. Indeed few others recommended on this site are more recent with that asceptic look but their price is also 40% higher.

This motel is situated just beside the Riverview Motel, opposite the river, near the old bridge to the Kuwai playground. It's not very modern deco, but it's clean, the rooms are bigger (than all others seen) with a big kitchen and people are welcoming.

We were wondering if the road noise would be annoying but traffic was actually minimum and we didnt hear anything.
The owner nicely offered us a further 10% discount.

If you are not fussy and like to save 40-50 NZD , I definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelerInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.8 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Address: 30 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £49 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing