We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but Spacious”
Review of Riverside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Motel
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Wellington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tired but Spacious”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice location, had a spacious one bedroom unit which was well stocked with everything required to self cater, was spotlessly clean. Shower/bathroom was adequate - though a bit dim & dark.
The setting is nice by the river, and although the road was busy it quietened down in the evening and it was quiet enough for a good sleep.
The drawback for us was that after we returned to the unit at night after a day out we found that every window had been opened widely & left like that - not on security catches but wide open so anyone could enter - did not feel happy about having left our belongings being insecure like that & it was also freezing cold as we did not return until night time. I have never stayed anywhere before where the staff have entered the room when you are out and opened it all up and left it like that.
Although this is exactly the type of place I would usually return to I do not think I will revisit a place where there is no regard for the guest's security or comfort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideGraeme, Manager at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Fortunately, most of our guests would disagree with the statement that there is no regard for the guests security or comfort.
The windows are all very narrow and have an approved security stay on either side, allowing them to open only 10cm at the widest point. To open them further the security arms would have to be broken and if someone was able to do this without being heard by staff or other guests, they would have to also be thin to fit through. The internal latches on ranchsliders can also not be reached through a window. The back windows are high up from ground level and have extra security arms.
The complex is under constant surveillance; our advisors tell us that there is no more chance of this place being broken into than any other motel.
As an added security measure, the servicing of all units is carried out by management only; they being the only one's with key access.
It is normal practice to open windows and keep units aired during the day. Moreso, important during the winter months when guests understandably keep the units closed up tight all night and the windows cry heavily with condensation due to use of heaters, electric blankets, etc.
In many cases the guests go out for the day and leave windows shut, curtains drawn, heaters on and electric blankets and lights on.
The units need to be kept aired for future guests.
We are happy to accept requests from guests to shut their windows and draw curtains, etc, if they are going to be late returning and this happens often. But if we are not told we have no idea when a guest is returning and this of course is impossible and time consuming to try and monitor.
Shame that 'Xpressoholic ' has chosen to air their concerns on an international media platform when the opportunity was there for them to approach the motel reception, where their concerns would have been treated courteously and constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed one night here and could not fault the accommodation. The owner was so helpful and accommodating. Nothing was a bother. The unit was spotlessly clean and well equipped for self catering. Spacious. Excellent parking. We would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: All ground level units and all set back off the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was in a party of 14 staying for two nights, and was impressed with the help and service provided by our host Graeme. The rooms were spacious and very clean, with easy access to the motel. Situated opposite the Whanganui River, it presented a nice quiet environment and a relaxing stay, with close proximity to the shops and restaurants. While a couple of our party were uncomfortable with their beds, the majority were happy with their lot, which comes down to a preference for firm or soft beds. We were all agreed that it was a pleasant stay, and as far as I am concerned, I will be keeping this Motel in mind should I stay in Wanganui again, as it is good value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were doing a road trip of the North Island of New Zealand and looked for clean budget accommodation along the way. This motel was older, but exceptionally clean. Ever corner of the rooms, curtains, linen etc were spotless. The kitchen was well equipped with necessary needs for cooking and the bed was comfortable. The rooms were spacious. The location was pleasant with the river across the road. The hosts were pleasant and helpful.
Would highly recommend this motel to anyone who is happy in an older style motel, but places importance on cleanliness and budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenix103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Good location. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds with plenty of bedding. TV could do with more channels for when weather is bad and you are stuck indoors. The unit we stayed in had very dark wood doors and skirting. The wood in the kitchen was the same. The bedspreads were also drab. This gave a depressing look which is a shame as this is a very good value for money motel which is clean and comfortable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

the room was very clean and had everything we needed. enough space for the portacot as well. Staff were very friendly and helpful, The units were a bit older but well priced and prime location. Could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: If you dont mind a slightly older place, thats the perfect place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evagnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed just one night here, and it was very suitable for us. The manageress was most helpful, and the wifi worked well, although the usage was restricted and needed to be topped up (free of charge). The room was not the most modern, but was fine for us, and convenient for getting into Wanganui. Parking was free, unlike much of Wanganui. We would happily return to this motel, if we return to Wanganui.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#18 of 26 in Whanganui
55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
139 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 30 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing