We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passed its prime but superb customer service...”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at this old gem in September. It was only by shear luck that we found the hotel as we literally drove around downtown to find someplace to stay since we rolled into town rather late. Overall this hotel does its job. Not fancy but nice enough and still possesses a genuine old timer feel. The staff were very nice and went out of their way to post a jacket that I had left behind. I can't thank them enough for doing this as it had sentimental value. Overall I would recommend this property to anyone passing through or staying in Wanganui for a couple days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleston31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

hi thanks for writing your review on your stay, yes our building is old and grand and with character, we are refurbishing the rooms to lift the our guests comfort., but , we are pleased to hear that our staff meet your expectations

Regards Darron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

welcoming entrance with beautiful potted plants along front of hotel. The fruit salad at breakfast was tops. Friendly staff. Right in middle of town, plenty of parking. Plenty of character as you would expect from an old hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi , thanks for writing your review. We agree that our Entrance is grand and fitting the character of the building, but, most off all, we are pleased that our staff made your visit a pleasure

Regards
Darron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Grand is the Grand Old Lady of Whanganui, now a venerable dame, a little worn, a little tired, but still a really good place to base a visit to this interesting city. My room was warm and comfortable, came with free continental breakfast, and the meals and hospitality in the bar in the evening was all I needed. Don't expect modern styling, but relish an experience from the past.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel on your stay, yes she is a fine old lady, built in 1927. We have been working on refurbishing the rooms. We are also glad to hear that our staff in the bar made your stay enjoyable

Regards Darron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed at the Grand in June & were nicely surprised to receive a well presented upgraded room, which caught the late afternoon sun & was an inviting welcome to our arrival. Great value for our one night stay with a plentiful continental breakfast included, this was more than adequate. Thanks to the helpful owner & staff for the good friendly welcome & good helpful service. We look forward to another longer stay into the future.
Sue T.

Room Tip: Great central city location & excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

We appreciate our guest taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the new room, that we had refurbished and it is always pleasing to hear our staff have made your stay a pleasant experience.

Regards Darron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed in The Grand Park Hotel for one night, was nothing special.
There was way too much Carpet which they had also suck on the walls and the room wasn't every modern at all, although the bathroom seemed to have had a recent refurbishment. If your a non smoker you can tell the pub and rooms use to be smoked in as they smelt like stale cigarettes. The room also came with a free continental breakfast which we thought would be a fry up but it was just few pieces of boring toast and cereal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhotrockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We are sorry that we missed the mark with your stay. Thanks for your comments about the bathroom. Many Hotels had carpet around 1 metre up the wall, We are in the process of doing away with this style as we are refurbishing the rooms. The Hotel has been none smoking for at least 20 years and no other guest have mention this. (Neville The owner has been here 10 years and a non smoker himself) We have never known anyone to expect a continental Breakfast to be a fry up. Our Free continental breakfast includes 3 cereals, fruit salad, toast, tea, coffee and a selection of spreads. Our guest have the option of up grading to a cooked breakfast from Ten dollars.

Thanks for your time in writing this review

Regards Darron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We recently stayed at the grand hotel, on way to auckland. We stayed at the governer's suite. the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. there is no air-con, however there is a fan in the bedroom. internet was provided free of cost, and was reasonably fast. shopping strip is close by and there is a countdown 20mins by walk. there is a table tennis table in breakers cafe next door, which could make for some entertaining evenings. definitely would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for staying at The Grand Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Governers Suite and hope to see you next time you are in New Zealand. Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Spent one night here on our travels around new Zealand.We had a nice room and bathroom which had recently been refurbished,although we did have some noise from the TV on the adjoining room.Staff were friendly with good service and the food tasty and good value.Hotel is in a great position close to town and river.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDMWareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanks for staying at the Grand Hotel on your trip around New Zealand, We are glad when guest take the time to review. The Grand was built in 1929 and we have been recently refurbishing the rooms, as we have 55 rooms they are not all being done at once. We are pleased that you Like our staff and enjoyed the service

Regards Darron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.5 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Corner St. Hill & Guyton Streets, Whanganui 4541, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £56 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing