We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big surprise”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were two married couples, looking to stay, as we usually do on our motorcycle trips, in a historic, iconic Kiwi hotel. Most are pretty seedy but the Grand has been beautifully restored along with modern comforts like good beds, modern bathrooms, etc. The prices was very reasonable, especially with a buffet breakfast included. The meals were excellent and the owner/manager, Neville, a wonderful host.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XJR1300X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

It is so good that hotels of this vintage are being saved. It is lovely to be able to take a step back into the past with its quality woodwork and surrounds. We had a lovely refurbished room with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was nicely updated and we had fluffy white towels. There were tea and coffee facilities in our room and a free continental breakfast in "Breakers" consisting of 3 cereals and fruit, toast, honey, traditional kiwi marmite, and jams, and tea and coffee. A cooked breakfast was available at a reasonable price of required. Breakers also has reasonable meals and there are reasonably priced bar meals also. The Grand is situated just off the Main Street, and we found it handy to most things.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HebH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We traveled NZ for a month staying in hotels/motels/B&Bs/holiday parks. Our one-night stay in this hotel was the worst of any we stayed in. The "new" addition room we stayed in had HEAVY visible dust, was dingy, poorly outfitted and noisy. Hotel staff have apparently been cut to the bone with no one at the front desk after hours and early morning (8am). The breakfast portion of the "bed and breakfast" paid for was essentially cold cereal and toast. It was sad to see a hotel with a glorious past be allowed to deteriorate to such a sad degree. We don't expect perfection and are not hard-to-please customers - the failure to meet general levels of service, cleanliness and decor was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Yes, we are 80% through our current modernisation program. We are sorry if there was an over-site regarding dust. We are very particular about this thoughout this process and deeply apologies for missing this. Our reception hours are 7am-10pm most evenings with a duty manager on call 24/7. Our complimentary breakfast consists of a choice of 3 cereals, fruit salad, toast, tea and coffee. Full cook breakfasts are also available for purchase. We are sorry your complimentary breakfast was not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel itself is very grand and well presented. The owner/manager was very pleasant and placed us in a large room which was great of him. We were situated at the front of the hotel which had a bit of road noise but wasn't really a problem. We ate in the restaurant and found the meal very nice. There is a light breakfast in the morning which helps you on your way. There was no noise from the hotel section of the premises. Nice and close in the CBD for an evening stroll.

Room Tip: Most probably a side or rear room would be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantTaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks for reviewing our Hotel, we are pleased that you found the meals and the continental breakfast enjoyable. I am glade that our staff looked after you well while you were here.

Regards Darron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for one night, the initial impression of the hotel was positive as it has a very grand lounge and dining room. The room however was a slightly different matter. It did feel like you'd stepped back in time with carpet on the walls and a strange selection of lamps and lights all with bulbs that were were too big for the shades. We felt like we were appearing in a slightly seedy Dirty Harry movie, in a way that made us smile.
The room was clean and the bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbished.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, We are moving through the rooms and changing too eco long life bulbs and we will take the time to matching them to the shades, this is as the bulbs need replacing. Some of the rooms decor still match the era of this grand old building, but we are refurbishing the rooms as time and $'s permit. At least you did Smile about the room.

Regards Darron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

A perfect night in well set up good value hotel. Complimentary breakfast an added bonus. Welcoming staff ensured a very memorable nights stay. Very easy to book online and bar meals are realistically priced. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hi thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel, we always hope to give good value for the dollars you spend with us. The free continental breakfast ( 3 cereals, toast, Orange juice, tea, coffee) is a bonus to your stay, which can be upgraded to a cooked breakfast $10 to $18 ) Thanks for your recommendation.

Regards Darron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were so lucky to stay in this Wanganui icon! Fantastic old place with heaps of character. We stayed in the Govenors suite which is only a few extra dollars and was worth every cent. Big seperate lounge and large dining table with a seperate loo for the visitors with a seperate bedroom with unsuite and spa bath. The shower head was not good but apart from that nothing to complain about at all.Yeah its not new but lacks nothing. The staff and owner are something else. Nothing was too much trouble including getting ice at stupid times and making a homemade pie and chips when everything else was closed. We thankyou for a very lovely stay and memory. If you go to Wanganui Stay here and in the Govenors Suite....youll love it. Allan and Stef. Gold Coast, Australia

Room Tip: Go the best. Dont pinch for a few lousy dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thanks for reviewing our Hotel, We aim to give value for a nights stay, its pleasing to have guest that pay that little extra to stay in one of a better suites and that our staff gave you the service you expected.

Regards Darron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.3 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Corner St. Hill & Guyton Streets, Whanganui 4541, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £53 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing