We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
51
67
31
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
67
31
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish bar free continental breakfast breakers restaurant poured guinness one night old style small balcony new zealand lovely night decent size hotel room friendly service boxing day nice meal up to date central location great value for money
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

This Hotel reeks of history; the wood finishing is very fine, especially in the Bar area as other patrons have remarked, and the restoration effort has been sensitively handled overall. The nightly rates are reasonable and the breakfast in Breaker's hearty and good old fashioned Kiwi in character.

Room tip: The second floor is fine.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

This is the second time we have taken a large group to the Grand Hotel - both times we have been really well looked after! The food is good and the staff are great plus they let us use a room for our evening games. Great value for money too! I would definitely recommend this hotel. We are planning a third visit later this year.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ELTOP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Hi there
Thank you so much for the kind words. It is always great to host you guys. We look forward to seeing you in October for your next visit.

Warm Regards
Werner Lamprecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Charming, beautiful old Hotel.Lots of character and Characters, especially in the bar!
Food and service in the bar was really good.
We found our room a little underwhelming with an interesting electrical set up but for a short stay it was fine.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time top write a review its always nice to hear guests enjoyed their stay we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The stay was excellent, the room was great, clean and tidy, electric for tea,coffee etc etc.
Bed was firm, not soft just how I like it.
Not much more I can say really it was only one night oh and a free continental breakfast.
lovely Thank you Grand and will stay there again soon

Dave n Carol

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Hi there Dave And Carol
I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at The Grand Hotel. We hope to see you guys soon again.

Warm Regards
Werner Lamprecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Wanted a night away from Wellington and was a great night's stay at The Grand Hotel, lovely room and Irish restaurant was wonderful, friendly atmosphere and had wonderful salmon meal and my Mum also enjoyed her meal. Would definitely stay again that is for sure.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thanks for the kind words its always nice to hear positive feed back from our guests. I hope we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews