We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Famous for its pies.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kristy’s Cafe

Kristy’s Cafe
Ranked #9 of 87 Restaurants in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kristys Café is known WORLDWIDE for our FAMOUS RAETIHI PIE, Amazing Food, Coffee, Service and Atmosphere.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Famous for its pies.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

If u love a pie, this is the place to go. Great service, coffee and the place is filled with old farming bits and bobs. Nice rustic outdoor area to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“always stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We travel between Hawkes Bay and Taranaki a lot and Kristys is the place we always stop at on the way over.We have been there many times. I nearly always get a pie and I usually never normally eat pies. The fillings are different. Coffee is good and the lemon and ginger tea as well.I have sampled Kristy other food from the cabinet or jars and have not been disappointed.
Restaurant itself is a bit different, plenty of space, rustic.
Parking is great and there are toilets.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank murrbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The biker's friend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stumbled across this gem whilst on a motorcycle tour and had possibly the best minted lamb pie I have ever or will ever have, unless I make another trip to Wanganui! If you haven't already been there, make it your life's ambition to go there and eat a pie. You won't be disappointed.

(They make good coffee, too.)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank midlandsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristy_leeWanganui, Owner at Kristy’s Cafe, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
I know this reply is way overdue but I just wanted to let you know how y much we appreciate what you wrote in your review, thank you very very much...
Lee and Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pies To Die For”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Kristy's pies are absolutely scrumptious and the best around. Huge and chock full of delicious fillings. The venison is my favourite. We have been enjoying these for many years; firstly at his Raetihi Cafe and then since he moved to Wanganui and opened his great little cafe. All is food is extra good and his cafe is delightful and full of interesting things.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Didn't Know Pies Could Taste this Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stumbled across Kristy's Cafe while trying to research where we could stop for lunch on the drive from Waitomo to Wellington and I am so glad I did. It totally lives up to it's hype right from the delicious pies to the lovely feel about the place. There were 5 of us and we all had something different and each was a hit even my very slow eating daughter finished before me and that is really saying something. Shame or maybe a good thing by the time we arrived that the supplies were low because I am sure we would have tried to go another round!
Thanks Kristy so glad we made the stopover - we still talking about the awesome pies ;)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stinjalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kristy’s Cafe also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Kristy’s Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing