We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food choices”

Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar
Ranked #34 of 90 Restaurants in Whanganui
Price range: US$1 - US$24
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Whanganui, New Zealand
1 review
“Great food choices”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Recently had a toasted sandwich, asked if I wanted butter on the outside or not, decided not to, Amazing tasty cheese and pineapple toasted on brown bread ! arrived with a side of tasty relish.
healthy cafe food, innovative ideas, great coffee..awesome owners.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great coffee but bland food”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Have had two meals here recently. Service is excellent. Cafe is bright, clean and airy. However ,the past two times we have visited the food has been disappointing. Ordered toasted sandwiches which looked as though they had been slapped together and toasted without any butter on the outside of the bread, resulting in a very dry texture.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiggy4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, Owner at Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
We are sorry that your toasted sandwiches were bland. We have many spicy items on our menu and toasted sandwiches were one of the items we included to offer a less spicy option. As we do not know the ingredients you chose, we can't comment any further on the blandness factor. We have taken on board your comment about buttering or not buttering the outside. We now ask everyone which they would prefer. One of our goals is to provide the healthiest food available, therefore we reduce the consumption of butter and oil by default. Our regular customers want to feel like there are no unexpected extras.
You commented that the service was good. Having said that, we would have liked to have the option to rectify the problem at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
“The Best Coffee!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We work at a bank just down the road and get our coffee from Pat every morning. It is the best coffee you can get anywhere in New Zealand! Just perfect! Lovely food, but can particularly recommend the friands and omelettes. Thanks Pat and Reshma. You make our day. Cheers Sue

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Coffee was, well, burnt...”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

A disappointing visit this morning, have being here a number of times before standards seem to have slipped. Don't get me wrong, the service was good, but the coffee tasted burnt and the food was ok. Its a shame as the surroundings are attractive and the atmosphere very cool, will go back, but hope things improve.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, Owner at Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
We apologize for your bad coffee. We pride ourselves in our standard of service and the quality of our product. Our regular customers have confirmed the standard has not dropped at all. We are disappointed that you could not have brought it to our attention and have given us an opportunity to rectify the mistake and apologize. We are always happy to do so and are very approachable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“very tasty”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stopped here for lunch quite by chance passing through. We were very impressed at everything. Decor, staff, atmosphere. the facilities all nice.
The food? amazing, really tasty, innovative and fresh ideas, plus physically freshly cooked too. 5 out of 5, only problem was that we couldn't stay longer and eat more! Will be calling back in here again next time we're passing. Reccomended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Gavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing