We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Large room”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I only stayed for one night and found the hotel to be adequate. We had to race to the hotel after driving up from Wellington. The reason for this was the hotel reception closes at 10 PM. They literally lock up the front door and reception staff go home.

The room on the first floor was large and clean. I really only needed a place to shower and kip before leaving early in the morning.

@ $145 a night it seemed expensive for what it was. They have the cheek to add 4% if you're paying by credit card.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    30
    35
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
29
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

One night visit (very brief) to attend a course the next day. Arrived late (just after 10pm) but reception was closed; fortunately the bar manager was able to allow me to check in. My room was on the first floor and must have been one of their superior rooms - I managed 11 steps across the length - it was massive.

Bed comfy, large LCD TV with lots of satellite channels. Tea and coffee facilities in room including a plunger.

Agree with other comments, very dated, but in my opinion clean and well maintained. The bathroom was the real old fashioned bit, not in a stylish way, more in a 'Made in the 1970's' way. The shower was a bit disappointing. I don't know how warm it would be in the depths of winter, as there only seemed to be an old wall heater.

Breakfast in the restaurant was self service and very good. The poached eggs were divine and the coffee fantastic.

I can comment re. those who stated 'a bit like a motel'. The rooms at the rear were very motel like; however, they also overlooked a very substantial pool (which was very cold!!)

I can't comment about the dinner options, but the food on the course was very nice!

Room Tip: Those near the front seem bigger (they are numbered 8**)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big_ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Very dated accommodation but friendly staff. Bistro bar food wasexcellent. The bed was comfortable but some of the services lackd quality. Wifi is not free, forgot to give me utensils with my breakfast on the first morning and didn't get the free newspaper only the extra one I paid for and they forgot to give me the one I was paying for on my last morning there. If you have luggage and you are not on the ground floor it can be a mission to take your bags to your room as there is no lift. I would rate it as average but there is other accommodation in Wanganui that is much better value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Polite greeting, room was tidy and wellsuited to my needs. Helpfull staff. Nice bar with friendly group of people. Restaurant meal was great the Terakihi was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennyjetmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We only stayed here for one night, but found it to be just fine. Room was clean and pretty modern. Staff were very friendly. Doesn't seem like there's much to do nearby, but we hit the road first thing in the morning so it suited us. Internet access expensive.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Booked this "hotel" which turns out to be a dirty old motel online for a single night in Wanganui. It turned out to be one of those places where you step one foot in and the strange smell of mothballs (or worse) makes you want to walk out backwards as fast as you can. Unfortunately, we didn't and rather stayed for a night which was a big mistake.

The biggest cause of my disappointment is their completely misleading webpage which shows images of some kind of mock dream-room that unfortunately looks very different in reality. We had a so-called "Superior room" which costs over 100 Dollar and turns out to be a tired looking worn shady kind of motel room. The bedroom was dimly lit and really old with a wobbly mattress and a noisy little bar fridge. The bathroom was an absolute shocker, not only really old and tiny but it also only had a bath tub which was starting to overflow as soon as you turned on the water. In the end, the whole room was steamy and under water which was just disgusting.

The website states that the Superior rooms "have views over our picturesque grounds to the pool area or have balconies facing the mountain". Well, I don't know what their idea of "picturesque" is but the concrete back wall of a discount supermarket advertising the "Lowest grocery prices in Town" is everything but in my eyes (see photos below). Never again!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneyberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whanganui hotels

Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We stayed in one of the older rooms at the side of the main reception (the rooms at the front look a lot nicer), the room was very dated as was the bathroom. It was clean and comfortable aswell as being spacious. We had our own parking in front of our room.

Bit of a lomg walk to town but 3 supermarkets on your door step.

Adequate for 1 night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bash69Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#20 of 26 in Whanganui
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui

Property: Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Address: 379 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand (Formerly The Avenue Hotel And Conf Ctr)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing