We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but seriously in need of a makeover and average breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Very friendly staff. We were well directed to our room but was really disappointed with the state of the bathroom - clean but very run down. Used the toilet and the push button broke so went back to reception. Was given another room key straightaway and shown to the next room by another friendly staff member. Another room in desperate need of attention - very old, 1970s and the duvet and valance was in serious need of replacing - stains and marks everywhere. Bed and pillows normally dont bother me but i had a dreadful sleep and woke with a very sore back. Pool area was very pleasant and handy. Breakfast in the morning was average - side of mushrooms very rubbery and no taste other than oil. Eggs Benedict - eggs were poached but were severly hard boiled. Husbands big breakfast was nothing like the size of other places we had visited, poached eggs were actually hard boiled. Overall a bit disappointed as the internet shows photos of almost a different place. I would choose to stay elsewhere

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and attentive. I apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. We have started renovations to improve all bathrooms at the hotel. The recently renovated bathrooms look great. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience if you choose to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

The comments about this motel's maturity excepted, I had a good night.

Personnel were very friendly and attentive. You cannot buy that? The rooms are not new but it was clean & everything worked just fine. The bed is way too soft for my liking though.

I ate in house, had an Angus Pure filet which was 100%, cooked as requested etc. Perhaps too many flavours on one plate? The main taste was the meat, bacon & mushroom, great, but to my taste that needs plainer accompaniments like mash or rice rather than mustard sauced potatoes? The steak was excellent though!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Waggersting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff do try their best to make everyone's stay an enjoyable one. We are lucky enough to have some great chefs here. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back at the Kingsgate Hotel next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

On the internet it looked really up market and new but badly needs a update and loving care.was clean and tidy just getting old needs renovating.
OK service staff didnt show to room or anything bit expensive when so old.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mars14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I am glad that you found our rooms clean and tidy, our staff are very dedicated to keeping everything up to a high standard. I apologize that you found the hotel dated. We have currently started our renovations and we are putting in new bathrooms across the hotel. We look forward to offering you a recently renovated room if you choose to visit us again. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had a KIng Room, light and sunny overlooking the pool. Modern decor and very comfy. However most important we were given access to the room at 10.30 which was invaluable as we had flown form Auckland and had to prepare for a 2.30 wedding. Thanks a lot Kinsgate..

Room Tip: The king bed room was worth the extra money
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your valuable comments, it was great to have you stay and I am glad that you found it comfortable. We are more than happy to let people check in early to their rooms if they are available. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This hotel looked fantastic in their webpage. Lovely beds, all the mod cons. We booked a triple and got a room that should only have had a queen and single at the most and got a double and two singles all lined up in the same room with about 1 metre between each of the beds. No airconditioning and not even a fan. Temperatures got to 30 degrees during the day and the heat inside the room was jolly unbearable. All the amenities were VERY average and needed sprucing. We booked the Christmas dinner for 89. each and while i understand the expense of having people working that day it was still a never to be repeated experience. Not even a glass of wine or complimentary non alcoholic drink with the meal. I personally would never stay here again. I could stay at the camping ground and have better, more modern amenities than here unfortunately. The staff I dealt with were very nice however.

Room Tip: Front rooms in hotel are likely to be more like the photos however, they will be on the main road si...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found our staff nice, but I apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We aim to make everyone's stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. We do have a variety of rooms available to stay in , a mixture of standard and superior rooms to upgrade too. Over 2013 we will be concentrating on room renovations to enhance the quality of the rooms. Christmas time was exceptionally hot in Wanganui and it is normally very rare for it to get into the thirties. We do have fans available and superior rooms with air conditioning. I apologise that you did not have one. We do provide a Christmas lunch every year and we have not increased our prices for the last three years in an attempt to keep prices down for our guests. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience if you choose to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

One night in Wanganui’s Kingsgate Hotel may be enough for many, but its 1970’s décor has some charm, although the bathrooms are very dated. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the room I had was upstairs (a studio superior I think with the awful gray bedspreads) looked out on to the extensive lawn area, so it was very quiet. Compared to many the hotel was good value for money, although free internet would be a major attraction. I just had tea and toast for breakfast which could be considered a little pricey at $7.50.

Room Tip: An upstairs room facing the garden is very quiet
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback, it is very appreciated. I am glad that you found our staff helpful and the rooms cleaned to your liking. Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the rooms in top condition and I have passed on your feedback to them. This month we are starting bathroom renovations which is exciting for us. In regards to the internet fees it will now be free as off 2013. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This was one of the more corporate hotels we stayed in during our holiday but served it's purpose in terms of location on route & quality of service. We had a very acceptable meal in the restaurant & all staff were very polite & friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#19 of 26 in Whanganui
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui

Address: 379 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand (Formerly The Avenue Hotel And Conf Ctr)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £73 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing