We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stay, try the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly stay, try the restaurant”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nice family stay in the 1 bedrm family suite, older style with modern kitchen but comfortable. I had a discounted rate, not sure I would have liked to have paid full rate for it thought. Decided to dine in the restaurant/bar thank goodness - fabulous food and they halved a normal main for the kids, was no problem. Would stay again in the summer as the pool looks great! Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meegsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, the staff work hard to provide great service and delicious food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The swimming pool is nice and warm at the moment. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    33
    36
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
30
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Car park location right outside in winter wet conditions, friendly welcome staff on arrival. Our room & beds were comfortable, handy to everything required. Hot water bottles were made available, but not required as the room was warm on a winter night. Bar staff friendly & organised a taxi for our evening trip out. Our only disappointment is that there was no 24 hr. room service, for a late night toasted sandwich if I need to complain at anything. Loved the cooked breakfast the next morning it was one of the best we had had in years. Thanks Kingsgate Hotel for a great value stay, we look forward to returning.
Sue T.

Room Tip: Great location, handy to all food options etc. great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us during the winter. Its great that the facilities suited you. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Mixx bar and the staff in there. We do have a 24hour Mcdonalds open just along the road for those late night snacks. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A winter stay in Wanganui was warm and comfortable at The Kingsgate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room and beds were comfortable however decor is a little dated. The car parked right outside the door was very handy in the wet wintery conditions. Being on Victoria Ave there are plenty of food outlets close by, a bottle store adjacent and a supermarket across the road for the budget minded. I have previously eaten in the restaurant for family functions and the food was reasonably priced and tasty. I didn't test the pool as it looked a bit cold but it was right outside the front door...good for parents wanting to watch children. Wifi was free but tricky to connect to iDevices.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMcMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Despite no reservation when we arrived (problem with our travel agent?) we were made very welcome and a room was quickly found which was both very comfortable and roomy. While a city centre hotel, the décor and the standards of the facilities on offer was excellent and easily found. We had breakfast and dinner both nights of our stay and were very happy with the quality and choice on offer. We certainly did not go hungry! The reception desk was very helpful in providing help and guidance to what was on offer in the city which was an enjoyable short walk away. A very good base to have to explore the whole area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay. Our reception staff work hard to make a guests stay enjoyable and rewarding, I am glad that you benefited from their local knowledge of the area. That is great that you enjoyed our meals. We look forward to seeing you again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Although it was hard to find this hotel at night- needs a lit sign on the street front, staff were welcoming. The hotel is of its time but everything clean and comfortable. Rooms a good size, but bathroom ready for an update. It was a nippy night so would have liked an electric blanket on the bed, the wall heater looked antiquated and was not sure how to operate. However, had everything one needed for an ovenight business trip.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank forans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I'm a regular visitor to Wanganui for work and always find the staff friendly and helpful. My last visit was a stay for 4 nights. I didn't want to eat yummy and weight gaining restaurant meals for 4 nights, at my request the Manager put a microwave oven in the room for me. Thank you. I will continue to stay here.

Room Tip: In the hotel on the pool side - no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makere105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for you feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your 4 nights with us at the hotel. Our staff work hard to help out in any way they can. We do have kitchen units with full kitchen facilities for your next stay if needed. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Very friendly staff. We were well directed to our room but was really disappointed with the state of the bathroom - clean but very run down. Used the toilet and the push button broke so went back to reception. Was given another room key straightaway and shown to the next room by another friendly staff member. Another room in desperate need of attention - very old, 1970s and the duvet and valance was in serious need of replacing - stains and marks everywhere. Bed and pillows normally dont bother me but i had a dreadful sleep and woke with a very sore back. Pool area was very pleasant and handy. Breakfast in the morning was average - side of mushrooms very rubbery and no taste other than oil. Eggs Benedict - eggs were poached but were severly hard boiled. Husbands big breakfast was nothing like the size of other places we had visited, poached eggs were actually hard boiled. Overall a bit disappointed as the internet shows photos of almost a different place. I would choose to stay elsewhere

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and attentive. I apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. We have started renovations to improve all bathrooms at the hotel. The recently renovated bathrooms look great. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience if you choose to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.0 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui

Property: Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Address: 379 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand (Formerly The Avenue Hotel And Conf Ctr)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing