We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
151 on London(Whanganui)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Motel(Whanganui)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
13
34
42
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
34
42
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolroom was cleanshort staycomfortable staybusy roadtown centrecentral locationa great place to staystopover
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were given directions to look out for Pak'nSave, Countdown, New World and Mad Butcher - great - but Hotel signage from street a little hidden by lovely trees. Once there you will be pleased with excellent car parking. Reception area a tad drab but the very helpful and welcoming staff are more important than the decor. Forget that the hotel is in need of a brightening upgrade. The rooms are adequate for the value. Beds comfortable, good tv,, Small bathroom - but that ok as very good shower and good hot water supply and pressure. A large pool for guests that was well maintained with sheltered seating alcoves around it - great for families or groups. A number of Motel style units around the pool area - but these are not advertised in the hotel website of the AA directory ?? Well located hotel close to shops Supermarkets, St John's Club, Restaurants & Cafes, McDonalds and Burger King etc.

Room Tip: Probably best to try for a room on the first level
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

What a magnificent experience my wife, her mother and brother and myself enjoyed at the Christmas Meal provided at the Kingsgate Restaurant, Wanganui today. I am glad that Sharon booked us in early in the year as there were a lot of people there. A great menu and as always, very friendly but not intrusive staff and management. We will most surely be back next year.
I recall reading a review where the person suggested a complimentary drink to guests. Get real that person, as we have been in the Food Business and know how hard it is out there.
WE HAVE NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL. WELL DONE. Rod Newport

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Roddynewport3410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our room was spacious and was clean., However I felt that this hotel looked tired and worn out.The whole place felt gloomy and was lacking atmosphere. The bathroom suite needed updating.The person on reception was polite but robotic.The room cost was fair, but I would look for somewhere more inspiring next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in this hotel.Clean beautiful beds, to sleep in.You have a choice of a bath or shower not very common these days.lovely breakfast each morning. Excellent staff welcomed and very pleasant.

Room Tip: We were on the road side but the traffic didn't bother us as the drapes were heavy
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

In town for a friend's wedding anniversary lunch, we opted to stay where most of the party were staying and we weren't disappointed. It would appear that the owners of the hotel have been steadily improving the facilities as the bathroom on our lower level room was brand new ... unlike the guests on the top floor who had to put up with something a little older.

Very helpful, friendly staff, a great bar called 'Mixx' and generally a good stay all round. My only comment would be unusual design of the Breakfast Room/Restaurant. It was hard to find where you were supposed to be sitting and also no hot buffet. It was cooked to order instead. Just as well because it was very tasty!

Room Tip: Until they finish the renovations of the bathrooms ... choose a downstairs room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our new bathrooms. We are currently renovating the top floor as well. The Mixx bar is great for functions and I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts off the menu. Its great that the facilities suited you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews