We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astral Motel & Apartments
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Second time I've stayed here and love it. Close to a main road, but I wasn't at all bothered by any noise. Reasonably close to town, very close to the awesome Kowhai Park. Lovely gardens, fabulous host. Loved the offer of "would you like a firm bed or a soft one?"
Sure, it might be a little tired, but I personally prefer homely to all that modern smoked glass and chrome stuff. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Astral Motel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have stayed at the Astral a few times over the years and it has ticked all the boxes for our family. The operator provided us with fresh strawberries from his garden as we arrived in today. Excellent garden setting and clean and very comfortable rooms. The kids walked to Kowhai riverside park while we relaxed outside with a plunger coffee. This motel is thoroughly recommended by us.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank neville m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As a family of 5, the Astra was surprisingly ideal and we would be happy to stay there again. Directly across the road from the river, 2 mins drive to the main shops and easy entry/exit. Lovely, clean rooms with plenty of bedding and clean bath towels with the usual essentials nicely arranged on the bench top. There was a lovely garden to the left on entering the motel with a small playground and paddling pool which our girls enjoyed. Located on a busy street, we didn't notice the noise and enjoyed a good night's sleep. Good value for money, lovely managers and a lovely place to visit..

Room Tip: Ideal play to stay for families..
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiAdventurers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just across the river bridge from the best kids park in the country, as voted by our daughter... The 50+ channel SKY TV satisfied the family needs and free Wi-Fi helps too. Easy to find and good parking. If you are looking for something shiny and new, this is not it. If you are like us and look for rooms that are spacious and clean with service that is genuine and friendly, then you should feel at home here. Great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at the Astral for one night in March 2013. At first sight, given the location of the Astral we thought it would be noisy but were pleasantly surprised to hear no traffic noise at all. Our unit was very clean and the bed was comfortable, notably fridge was remarkably quiet. Free internet was of high quality, a wide screen TV was provided with a good selection of Sky channels. We found the owner to be very welcoming and helpful and would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzkeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here for one night only. Road noise terrible, no aircon so needed all the windows open. The double bed was terrible. The shower head was broken with water spurting everywhere and the front sliding door could be lifted and opened by hand after having locked it with the key. The owner was approached and shown this fault whereby he was surprised but offered not apology or remedy and walked off. We payed $120 for two adults and two children, but one child had to sleep on the couch! Very poor value, unimpressed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank thedoyles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astralmotel, Owner at Astral Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

We were unable to get tradesmen in as it was 3 o'clock on a Saturday afternoon.The lady who booked 2 units said one person could stay in her room when she was offered another bed in the room.$120 is not excessive when the whole town is booked out.Properties with aircon charge anything from $170 upwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed for a few nights over Xmas holidays. Great service and location in the Wanganui area. Kids loved the play area and park and river right opposite. Everything Wanganui has to offer within walking distance. Spotlessly clean and friendly staff. Great value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossmck65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.5 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Motel & Apartments

Address: Corner Dublin Street & Sommer Parade 45 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £42 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astral Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astral Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing