We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner at Rutland Arms”
Review of Rutland Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rutland Arms Inn
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“Dinner at Rutland Arms”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Date pudding was nice ... steak isn't really nice though - I asked for well done and I got a slightly rare one. I understand it's a matter of taste so to be fair, the place is actually cosy with the nice fireplace. The service staff aren't very friendly though. I think they also need to upgrade their menu choices.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidHu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    24
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
39
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We were travelling around the North Island with friends who were on a visit from the UK and decided to stay at the Rutland Arms as we had throughly enjoyed our stay here in 2006. This time however the rooms had deteriorated quite abit since our last visit. It was very difficult to have a decent shower as the water system was not very powerful but on mentioning to staff were told that they were at the end of the water supply and the pressure was very low. The curtains in our room were torn and not hung properly and on mentioning to staff was told that it had been reported but nothing had been done. The bedding could have also been of a better quality as one of our sheets had a loose hem which got caught in my foot, causing a trip hazard, and got torn even more. The location was ideal and it was handy having the restaurant downstairs. The food was good but not outstanding but the continential breakfast that was included in the price was lovely. A few silly problems which can all be put right and it will be back to its old self.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishalAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

The Rutland Arms is a charming property located just off the main shopping street, Victoria Avenue.

The property is historic and has lovely colonial rooms, all with a different theme. The bathrooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. The beds are comfortable and they have lovely linen.

The pub downstairs is reminiscent of an English pub with a great range of beers and wines and a roaring fire that makes it so welcoming in the winter.

The food is very good and there is lots of it.

The Hotel has plenty of off-street parking and is very well located. It is walking distance to many of Wanganui's attractions like the gallery and museum.

Wanganui is a wonderful base to explore the Rangatikei and Manawatu regions. Whenever I travel to the region on business, I stay at the Rutland Arms in preference to the larger centre of Palmerston North. Wanganui is a hidden gem and well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Quaint Surroundings at exceptionally good prices
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Thought we would choose the Rutland for our Wedding night since we had always had great servcie in the restaurant. The room was lovely unfortunately the service we received wasn't, not a great start to the honeymoon.

The greeting I received in the morning was terse and bordered on rude. Instead of "good morning" or "how was your stay" all I got was "anything from the mini-bar".

We were never offered the "complimentary" continental breakfast.

And finally when I sent an email to bring these things to the attention of the owners they didn't even bother to reply.

  • Liked — The room was lovely - very romantic
  • Disliked — The service was rubbish
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2008

We stayed there for 4 nights as a base to get up to the National Parks to the North and East. The Rutland Arms is a charming place, so much better value than the local motels, with excellent food served in the Pub downstairs or in the courtyard garden. A varied menu, complemented by wine and beers from around the world, served by a very friendly and helpful team of people. Only small downside was lack of aircon, compensated for by an effective ceiling fan and open windows allowing us to share the fun of some Friday night revellers in the street outside!

  • Liked — Beautifully furnished room
  • Disliked — Some street noise at closing time
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordHobbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2007

My wife and I stayed at the very charming Rutland Arms Inn for about ten days and had the most wonderful time. We stayed in the Rutland Suite, which was basically a room, but very comfortable.
The staff are incredibly friendly, especially the wait and bar staff in the pub downstairs (which has a great ambience and a roaring log fire every night). They're a happy bunch, know their menu well and aren't afraid to offer opinions and spirited recommendations about the fare on offer, which is so refreshing.
We also thought the food was almost perfect - the portions were worryingly large, and they do love their fries, but the lamb shank is truly spectacular.
I loved the way we were fussed over, especially by the people serving us breakfast - their attention to detail was touching, they knew exactly what our preferences were, down to what sort of coffee each of us preferred, and when!
Wanganui is a lovely little town with possibly the friendliest people on the planet, (it has a great newspaper as well!) and the Rutland is one of its best features.
We're definitely going back.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Limited vegetarian options on the menu
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rishadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2006

we stayed a night in the rutland arms in the "york suite" which was great value for money. We had a nice suite and spent the evening in the pub which served great food.
Wanganui is a smart clean town on the river and well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank webb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Inn

Property: Rutland Arms Inn
Address: 48-52 Ridgway Street | Corner Victoria Avenue & Ridgway Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rutland Arms Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rutland Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rultland Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing